Sauteed Mung Beans for the Win!

This is definitely another feeling foodie post. Yeah.. I’m a frustrated cook. Haha! It was my rest day when I decided to cook this dish because this is one of our many favorite Filipino dishes. For a traditional Filipino family, sautéed Mung Beans is usually served during Fridays since Filipinos are mostly catholic and we abstain from eating pork on Fridays though it’s not the Lenten season. Nowadays, Filipinos are serving this even if it’s not a Friday and with different added ingredients. I once read an article of a female oriented website (I forgot what it was..) and they’re sharing their own recipes or ways on how to cook Sauteed Mung Beans. I forgot to bookmark some of it so I had to just used my instinct to come up with my own recipe.

GINISANG MONGGO (Sauteed Mung Beans)

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 small tomato
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 cup of Mung Beans
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1/2 kilo of pork, rib part
  • 2 Knorr pork cubes
  • 2 tbsp Fish Sauce (patis)
  • Chicharon for toppings

Procedure

  1. In a casserole, boil the Mung beans until soft then set aside.
  2. In a separate skillet, heat the oil and saute onion and garlic.
  3. Add the pork then tomato, saute until the pork is lightly brown.
  4. Add the Mung beans together with the stock.
  5. Season with fish sauce and add the pork cubes.
  6. Boil until pork is tender then top with chicharon.
  7. Serve while hot.

Some put ampalaya leaves to top it but I don’t want it bitter so I skipped that part. It depends on how you like it basically. There are so many variations of this recipe. Some preferred to put shrimp and malunggay leaves. For added flavor, some put Tinapa or Daing for that salty taste. I’m so proud of myself that it tasted so good (according to my Hubby Ü) considering that it’s my first time to do it. More feeling foodie posts for me! Ü

*Note: The photo is not mine! I forgot to take a photo of my masterpiece so I googled one. Just wanted you guys to see how it look like.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

