Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed. There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. She’s wrong.

Goodreads

+++

Let’s start with the book cover. I love it. Mysterious and captivating. Truly one of those book covers that’s noteworthy. I would say that this is the first book that scare the hell out of me. That’s because I’m not into scary stuff. Don’t get me wrong. This is not something like Stephen King’s, but it would definitely give you the chills on some pages. Not exaggerating things, but it gave me nightmares. My imagination is infinite and I would have to blame it to that. The book is not entirely scary as I expected it to be though, but that’s okay, I guess. It’s just peppered with creepy stuff and I like it because it’s not excessively done. I also love the fact that the writing is surprisingly different. Not that I have read paranormal stuff commonly and I don’t have anything to compare it with, but still the writing is good enough for me to continue reading.

I don’t know, but the plot is somehow predictable for me. Like I have it figured out that Mara has superpowers or whatever they called it. I know that it’s not discussed where or how she acquired it on this book, but I know for sure that it would be laid out sooner or later. The Ouija game at the beginning doesn’t make sense, aside from it predicted that it is she who would be causing their deaths and Mara realized it only on the latter part. I was hooked in the first couple of pages wherein Mara is trying to figure out what happened on the night at the asylum. That’s pretty interesting. How her memories are coming back to her in waves. Her hallucinations and nightmares are bizarre; I would also love to figure it out as much as she is. I hate the part where almost everyone thinks that she’s batshit crazy. Witnessing a “tragedy” will definitely affect someone though not remembering a thing would be psychological. I think it’s defense mechanism or survivor guilt. Anyway, everything is going smoothly for me reading it from her near-to-craziness self, spine-chilling moments to her supportive family until Noah came to the picture. At first, I’ve expected that his character will help Mara figure things out, but then aside from that he is also different. That’s where I rolled my eyes and stop to think that this is so convenient. Like it’s not realistic anymore. How in the world where two weird people met in the most convenient time? Color me annoyed. It could have been better if Noah would stay as his awesome and arrogant self and just help Mara with things. That’s where things got out of control. Mabel’s owner, her Spanish teacher, the insects, the gators, etc. Plus what happened to her brother, Joseph and her father. It also should have been better if the love angle is not done that way it is. Mara is confused enough with what’s going on with her life and Noah seems like a detour for what she should be thinking or doing given the events. Sigh. Yeah. He’s helping her in some ways, but come on.

The characters are pretty stereotype and convenient too. Like her over supportive and brainy brother, Daniel. Her overly protective Mother. I hate her by the way. Her witty little brother, Joseph. Noah’s I-don’t-care-about-what-you’re-doing family. Anna the Bitch and her dumb sidekick Aiden. The new bi bestfriend, Jamie. Et cetera. The list just goes on and on and on.

Aside from my concern with Noah’s character and the rest of the characters -they’re bearable though- for that matter, not to mention where I have a lot of  “It could have been better if..” moments; the book is quite interesting. The story is intriguing enough for me to continue with the second book. Along with the thrilling cliffhanger at the end. Still recommending it. I could have given it four stars if not for those. Hopefully, things could be a lot clearer and please.. do more with the paranormal and creepy stuff rather than Mara drooling over Noah’s muscles. Please.

3 STAR

Next on this series..

Nyze

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

