Currently Reading #12

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past. She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Goodreads

+++

Got issues with the first book, but I got enough reasons to read its installment. I think I’m halfway through it and so far, I still have issues. As the saying goes, you need to accept those you can’t change. So be it. I will just try to enjoy the book nonetheless.

Checked some good reviews on Goodreads for reference:

This book was so beautiful and dark and compelling. I couldn’t put it down! When I wasn’t reading it I was thinking about it. It got confusing at times but I guess that shows how crazy Mara’s situation is. I recommend this to everyone who will read it!

Abbe Eliasof

Wow. I absolutely love Michelle Hodkin’s writing. She has a way of pulling you in and not letting go. There was just so much suspense, mystery, and romance and it all worked so well. Usually sequels aren’t my favorite but this book is definitely an exception. It didn’t even feel like a sequel

Vanessa

This book broke me. It really did. I thought the first book; The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was amazing. This one was even better. Wished the romance had been more, but it’s also kind of better in this sequel. The plot at least is so much better. And I loved it in the first book. It is also just as confusing. But somehow I think I managed to understand it all. Even though it is a bit heartbreaking. And the ending. My god. The ending is bad. And cruel. And awful. And kind of perfect. It has made my dying for book three. Thank god there will be one. So much left that we need get to know 🙂 Plus, I need more Noah.

Carina Olsen

and also picked some bad reviews:

Oh my how I disliked this book. I couldn’t wait for it to be over. I’m not usually one to give up on a series but it’s going to be difficult to convince myself to pick up the final book. I felt this book was all over the place making convenient but nonsensical plot twists. Like the first book, I was not into the paranormal aspects. I was bored to tears while Noah and Mara were trying to figure out what was the connection between their powers and during the “before” flashbacks. I’m also not really into Noah Shaw even though everyone else seems to be. I’ll end here because I don’t want to get too ranty.

Dana Twist

Just when you think the second book couldn’t be any worse than the first one, you pick up the evolution of Mara dyer and realize, the world is full of possibilities. It wasn’t a psychological thriller, like one would assume after having read the first book, it’s a mental patient’s diary. Yea, the world is full of retarded freaks. What is the gorgeous, Noah and the incredible, Peter doing in this book, you keep asking god! The main character is a Freakshow. Michelle couldn’t have made the plot any more twisted and stupid. By the end of the book you’ll guaranteed be like, ” Oh CoMe ON….. This is too credulous & Pathetic!! Were you on needle you freak?”. Yea, unless you are a Gothic freak or a Masochistic high schooler, there is no you’ll read this and stay normal, yea, NO WAY!

Indraja

The gore wasn’t gory enough. The characters were basically just stereotypes. The dream sequence was so poorly executed. The plot is not unique. But the one good thing about this book is Hodkin’s writing. She knows how to create suspense and fear but that’s the only thing, the ‘love scenes’ were so cliche and cheesy. And one more thing: does Michelle Hodkin realise that money doesn’t solve all your problems?

Christine Ee

I’m bothered about the negative reviews because they somehow project what I have in mind about the first book. Especially Christine’s “But the one good thing about this book is Hodkin’s writing. She knows how to create suspense and fear but that’s the only thing“. Geez. Well anyway as I’ve said, I’m halfway through it so let’s see. Book review to follow. Happy reading to me! 😉

If you want to read my review for the first book:

Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

