Book Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past. She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

Goodreads

+++

I just don’t know where to start. I couldn’t even fathom if there’s a page I like. Really. I’m not trying to be difficult here, but Christ! Everything here is just so messed up. In all fairness, I really tried to like the book at least. As a matter of fact, I even bothered finishing it when all I want to do is chuck it under our sofa, let the molds consume every pages and forget all about it. Sigh. I gave it a chance. Thinking it would eventually be better, but apparently it did not. I remember quoting a comment from a review I’ve read and somehow the realization slaps me hard; it stings.

But the one good thing about this book is Hodkin’s writing. She knows how to create suspense and fear but that’s the only thing

Christine Ee

I couldn’t agree more. That’s so spot-on. The writing on this book is somewhat better than the first, I admit. It just that, it seems like it couldn’t obscure the fact that aside from the writing, nothing is really noteworthy. Being a reader who dwells with a lot of fantasy and fiction, I want to explore other genre such as paranormal or perhaps thriller, horror and mystery to give highlights on my reading patterns. I guess I have chosen the wrong book to start it with.

The plot is a lot more confusing and it’s all strewed on my brain that it hurts. I was hoping that Mara would eventually figure out her so-called “powers“, but didn’t. Noah figuring his own, but didn’t. There’s no eye-openers. The author could have given readers hints of what was happening. A little -if she’s saving it on the last book- at least. The new -cracked- characters -obviously- does have something to do with everything, but I figured it out somehow on my own. Was this supposed to be that way? Not even a little development on their quest to figure the whole lot out. In fact, there is a great deal of new snags to think about. I mean yeah, Mara’s grandmother and Noah’s mother is somehow connected, its just that and then nothing. Lukumi is another freak. Like all of Mara’s craziness boils down to her equally crazy ex-boyfriend and his minions with a whole pathetic reason. Freakfeast! The flashbacks -I think- are irrelevant because it’s being neglected for more unimportant things like their ridiculous love life. Enough. From nowhere, there are doctors who are experimenting with all those freaky codes and all of them are just some lab rats. This is worse than Wrong Turn. It’s like the author can’t conclude where exactly this story would go.

Here I go again with my “It could have been better if..” moments. It could have been better if..:

  1. Jude is dead and he wants Mara dead too because she killed him and his sister
  2. Mara then trying to figure out how to fight Jude
  3. Abel Lukimi will help Mara and Noah with their abilities to kill Jude
  4. We forget about the psychiatric hospital and all the characters being crazy (I hate it!)
  5. We forget about the creepy doctors and their experiments
  6. Author focus on a plot that’s anything, but baffling
  7. Author focus on scaring readers since this is paranormal right? (Or so I thought!)
  8. The romance could be less cheesy and convincing. (It seems like they want to have sex all the freaking time given all the bizarre things that are happening. PLEASE! Eyeroll.)

There. I think I’ve listed what I have in mind, hopefully. I hate to give a star, but I feel this book deserved it. I tried. I really tried to like it. It failed bigtime. I’m also thinking if I’ll be reading the next book. If I’ll be interested to even give the series a chance again.

If you want to read my review for the first book:

Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

1 star

Next on this series..

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

