Currently Reading #13

Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tag along ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Goodreads

+++

After my frustrations on a book -check my latest book review, if you may- I have ventured into a paranormal series again. This excites me though. The rundown feels that this will be full of adventure. Plus I have read a lot of good reviews. I’ve started reading it and so far I’m liking it.

Here’s some of the good reviews:

I think my favorite part of this book was the conjuring of fancy gowns for the Halloween ball. I’m a big fan of Project Runway and its fun to imagine creating your dress using magic. I’m getting started on Demonglass right away and I’m looking forward to reading more about what happens with these characters. Did not expect the turn of events towards the end of the book. I love surprises!

Colleen Houck, author of the Tiger Saga

Fun! This book really grew on me. It took several tries to get past the first couple of chapters, but once Sophie finally gets settled in at Hex Hall things start moving along. The witchy battles are pretty cool, there’s good build-up of the mystique behind the school and behind Sophie’s past and powers, and the author does a nice job with creating a variety of different characters with distinctive voices. I especially liked BFF Jenna and the super cute and witty Archer, and Sophie herself turns out to be a pretty kick-ass heroine.

Wendy Darling

HEX HALL is an insanely fun, hilarious, and HOT book! I can’t even tell you how many times I laughed out loud (or had to put the book down because I was laughing so hard)! Sophie Mercer is now officially one of my favorite heroines and I just might be a little bit in love with Archer Cross, too. 🙂 I can’t say enough wonderful things about this book, only that you need to pick it up ASAP when it debuts next March. I’m only sad that I have to wait so long to read the next book in the series!!

Alexandra Bracken

To be fair enough, I’ve listed some of the negative reviews too:

Recommended to(Throw the book at the faces of): People who still thinks Mortal instruments was great, girls who crushes boys in books than than read book, Who are ready to waste 4 hours ,fan girls who often dream paranormal creatures really existed. And whoever don’t tell it was me who suggested this book. Review in a sentence: You should have killed me instead.

Thomas

Boring. Unoriginal. I liked the characters at times, but mostly I just found them dull. It was an easy read though, I got through it quickly, but I was constantly skimming through paragraphs. I thought this would have been better really. Very predictable but I did like the appearances of Alice. Oh goodness, and the conversations were so forced! You’d think they skipped a couple lines they way the conversations flowed. Not to mention the bad bad bad attempt at sounding like a teenager.

Katharine

It was excruciating, I’m sorry to say. The setup is a young person discovering they are a powerful magic user with parental complications that threaten her very life. Does this sound familiar? Yea, it’s pretty damn derivative. In terms of the prose, it started fresh and well constructed. I liked the voicing of a teen with attitude but not much ego strength. But then the book downshifts into snark. Obvious snark, like rips on Britney Spears. It’s a pass.

Nick Stengel

The negative reviews are quite intriguing as well as the positive ones so I’ll have a mental checklist of those. I really think that this is a lot better than my previous read -comparing is so not good, but yeah I’m wicked like that- so I’m still keeping my expectations at a normal. Book review to follow. Happy reading to me! 😉

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

