Currently Reading #14

Demon Glass (Hex Hall #2)

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (a.k.a. witches, shape-shifters, and faeries). But then she discovered the family secret, and the fact that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world-the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will either destroy her powers for good-or kill her.

But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery. Her new housemates? They’re demons too. Meaning, someone is raising demons in secret, with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Goodreads

+++

I love the first book so it’s no question that I’m going to definitely read its installment. I’m currently in Chapter 13 and so far, I can say that the second book is a lot more interesting than the first one. I’m still quite torn about Sophie’s betrothal with Cal. I don’t know. Perhaps I still have hopes for Archer Cross. Sigh. I’m absolutely excited for this book.

Here are some good reviews:

This book definitely fulfilled all my expectations and a bit more. It is much better that the first one which is fantastic (because usually second books suck). The story is very dynamic as there are more characters that play an important role, and there is a major twist in the plot which was unexpected to me. Still, it is ridiculously easy read. And the sarcasm of the main character is a Nobel-prize worthy.

Elena

This book was SO much better than the first, and the first was AWESOME! I don’t want to give any plot points away so I’ll say this: Archer – swoon, Cal – toooo adorbs, Jenna – fav vampire ever, and Sophie – fast becoming one of my favorite book characters ever.

Chiquita

I thought Hex Hall was good, but this book was amazing! I laughed out loud, and there was so much action! I finished this book in even less time than the first. Love the return of Archer and the Council twist. While a little predictable (and not in a bad way!!) they way Hawkins gets you there is great. Sophie’s voice is consistent and entertaining and I love her dad! Can’t wait to start the third book… And finish this series in less than a week 🙂 definitely on the same level as Darkest Powers. After a string of unentertaining books I am so happy I took a chance on this series.

Queen_ParisPink

Got some negative reviews to even this out:

It really annoys me to constantly read books that seem to have at least some kind of potential, and yet the author smashes everything to the ground by following some unofficial guide on how-to-write-bad-books-like-Stephenie-Meyer. In other words: find something else to read. This is not worth the time and even takes forever to get started. Also, Cal, the caretaker of the school, can never be described as hot after the author compared him to Hagrid in the first book.

Anne Nikoline

1. I didnt like it it was slow paced
2. There was no action there was more of the love triangle then anything
3. It was boring
4. I just didnt like it the first one was better i hope the third is way better than this one can i read a boo without a love triangle for once please

Headmistress A

I wish this book had the charm and wittiness of Hex Hall, but it didn’t and as much as I hate writing negative reviews I really can’t find anything positive to write here. I was sitting on an airplane, without any other sort of amusement and found myself putting it down several times to thumb through magazines and read advertisements. That’s a deal breaker for me, and so I’ll write this series off unfortunately.

Lydia Presley

After reading reviews about the book, I still thought that this is going to be more interesting ’cause I have a lot to watch out for considering the negative reviews. I think I have fairly written a book review on the first book to boot so yeah. Book review to follow. Happy reading to me! 😉

If you want to check out my book review:

Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

