Book Review: Demon Glass (Hex Hall #2)

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (a.k.a. witches, shape-shifters, and faeries). But then she discovered the family secret, and the fact that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world-the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will either destroy her powers for good-or kill her.

But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery. Her new housemates? They’re demons too. Meaning, someone is raising demons in secret, with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Goodreads

+++

I still can’t believe I’ve finished this in two days. Two freaking days. Considering all the stuff I need to do at work, housewife duties and extra curricular activities in between? That was unbelievably fast. I must admit, I’m not a pretty fast reader since I have a whole lot going on, but this book is that wonderful I can’t put it down. I stayed practically awake late at night though I still need to be at work at eight in the morning. I thought the first book was awesome, but this one is amazing.

I’m so glad that it stayed humorous and light as the first book was done. This is a lot of fun. I enjoyed it more. Compared to Hex Hall, Demon Glass is a lot more action-packed and a great deal has happened. It has the right amount of mystery and suspense that’s really interesting. There’s never a dull moment. I love how the present events are connected to the characters’ past and how their lives are getting more complicated in every secret that’s being revealed. How twisted their fates are and the fact that they need to figure out how they would get out of it alive. One could not really foretell where the story will go since there are a lot of twists on it. I am so amaze how the plot was thought of. I’ve gone through all possible emotions a person could feel while reading this. I literally laughed out loud most of the time. There are moments when there are funny things injected out of nowhere. Even in the darkest part of the story. That was a spirit lifter. There are pages that broke my heart. Really. Heartbreaking. I would not want to go into details since that will suck for spoilery, but you need to prepare yourself for that. I felt enrage about certain characters that happened to be turncoats. I am so upset that they turned out to be the people who I thought they’re not. The forbidden romance part? Jesus Christ. That’s so warped, I felt giddy and sorry for them at the same time. And, the cliffhanger. It killed me. I really want to throw the book out of the window because of that. Then, I’ve moved on. Knowing that I already have the third book. Ha! Ha! I’m crazy like that. So much for my emotions spilling out from me each time I turned a page. Quite surprising for a light read. I love it.

I didn’t talk about the characters from my review for the first book so I’ll do it here. Anyway, the POV is still with Sophie. I love her. Especially how she loves her family and friends. Her braveness and for her thinking-before-doing-anything attitude. Not to mention her wittiness and for her awesome self being a smart mouth. Most of the funny parts came from her snide remarks and smart retorts. I just lover her. I’m torn between Archer Cross and Alexander Callahan. They both have this distinct quality in them that I love. Cross is her Romeo, that one guy who will go against all odds to be with Sophie. Cheesy, but yes. Alexander or Cal as they called him, will do everything for her though it will mean healing an “enemy” and emotionally hurt himself for doing so. That right there is unselfish love. So yeah, I’m still thinking on which team I’m on. Sudden changed of heart. I’m afraid I won’t be talking about the rest of the characters to avoid spilling some exciting things so I need to shut my mouth and saved it for my book review for the Spell Bound.

If you want to check my review for Hex Hall:

Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)

Absolutely recommending this to all book lovers out there. I could have given this four stars because of the cliffhanger, but then I couldn’t bring myself taking away a star. Plus I have the third book so there.. Five Stars! Ha! Ha!

5 STAR

Next on this series..

nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

