Waiting on Wednesday #11

I’ve skipped a post for Waiting on Wednesday last week and I hate it so I’m posting a special feature today. After talking about WinterSpell, which is inspired by the Nutcracker, I have another masterpiece that everybody is talking about. This one truly looks amazing. I’m really excited about this and yes, this is another retelling. Guess what?

Thyra Winther’s seventeen, the Snow Queen, and immortal, but if she can’t reassemble a shattered enchanted mirror by her eighteenth birthday she’s doomed to spend eternity as a wraith. Armed with magic granted by a ruthless wizard, Thyra schemes to survive with her mind and body intact. Unencumbered by kindness, she kidnaps local boy Kai Thorsen, whose mathematical skills rival her own. Two logical minds, Thyra calculates, are better than one. With time rapidly melting away she needs all the help she can steal. A cruel lie ensnares Kai in her plan, but three missing mirror shards and Kai’s childhood friend, Gerda, present more formidable obstacles. Thyra’s willing to do anything – venture into uncharted lands, outwit sorcerers, or battle enchanted beasts — to reconstruct the mirror, yet her most dangerous adversary lies within her breast. Touched by the warmth of a wolf pup’s devotion and the fire of a young man’s desire, the thawing of Thyra’s frozen heart could be her ultimate undoing.

Goodreads

+++

Expected publication would be on the 9th of September 2014 by Month9Books. This is a YA fantasy, retelling Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Snow Queen“. To be honest, I have no idea what that fairy tale is about. I’m such a loser, but I got excited just after reading the summary of this book. Perhaps I could squeeze reading the fairy tale on a later date. And, the cover. Oh my God. So gorgeous. This can Elsa from Frozen should look like if she’s even real. I love the cover so much. Speaking of Frozen, according to Vicki, this is not inspired from the movie though the film is based on the same fairy tale -Now I have an idea what the fairy tale is about- and she’s already querying this before she ever heard of Frozen.

“I actually worried a little bit because I thought people might believe I was just “coat-tailing”. Then I read about the film, and finally saw it, and my worries were put to rest. Because, except for the fact that one character in the film and one character in my book can control snow and ice, there is absolutely nothing similar about them.”

— Vicki L. Weavil, author of Crown of Ice

There. I think that’s well explained. That only added to my curiosity and excitement to get my hands on the book. Of course, we can’t compare a book from a film, but it’s good know that Vicki clarified it.

Anyway, I’ve tried looking for giveaways, but unfortunately I’ve found nothing and no recent updates aside from the publication date. Too bad. I really want this. September 9 is a long wait and it gets worse whenever I see Vicki doing that blog countdown. Sigh. Ha! Ha! You can tell me about the books you’re dying to read. Perhaps I could check it out. 😊


Waiting on Wednesday was started by Breaking the Spine and serves to showcase those books that aren’t released yet, but that we’re eagerly awaiting!


nyze

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #11

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

