Book Review: Spell Bound (Hex Hall #3)

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

Goodreads

+++

I love the first two books, but I’m not so sure about its final installment. Hex Hall and Demon Glass are those books that I can’t afford to put down. There are a lot of things to be excited about, but this one, I’m torn. It lacks the action I’m expecting. Yeah. The writing is still awesome, but I find the plot slowing down at some pages. Like dull moments. I know there were a lot of things to conclude, but for me everything is just easily laid out. There are moments when I thought like “This should be where Sophie would be doing some cool stuff defending her friends or whatever.” It didn’t happen apparently. I’m a little disappointed, I must admit.

The stay at the Brannicks didn’t come out productive for Sophie as I expected it to be. I thought there would be training and all that good stuff so she can kick butts without magic, but nothing like that happened. Sigh. Also, it could have been more fun if the trip to the Underworld is not like walking down memory lane. That sucks. That’s definitely not how I imagined their trip would be and they’re arguing that Sophie is the only one who could go through there because she’s a demon, but no. Read it for yourself. Then, the battle on the latter part disappointed me too. I’m really expecting something kick ass, but it turned out differently. Way too easy and anti-climatic. It’s like everything is so convenient. Cal being the healer, Elodie being the ghost with magic still, etc. I expect a lot more considering the first two books are quite action-packed. I expected too much, I guess.

Other than those, I could say that I still enjoyed the book. All the revelations are impressively written. For starters, that’s the reason I’m hooked to this series. The twist at the end is so heartbreaking, but I guess that’s something that needs to happen. I adore Sophie’s parents. It’s a good thing that they have somehow reconciled. Jenna is still an awesome best friend. I really love her. Elodie, well you know Elodie. Ha! Ha! Still her bitchy ghost self. Archer is love. Still in his Romeo role thingy. Well, I don’t have issues with the characters. I love them all.

I really don’t want to give spoilers as much as possible so I’m really lost for words. Anyway, I’m still recommending this series, but don’t expect much from Spell Bound. So much for my disappointments. You’ve been warned. So yeah, sad, three stars.

3 STAR

If you want to check my review for the first two books:

Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)

Book Review: Demon Glass (Hex Hall #2)

nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

