Currently Reading #17

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1)

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Goodreads

+++

This book caught my attention primarily because of the book cover. I love it. So gorgeous. That’s one attention grabbing cover right there. Judging a book by its cover? I’m so there. Anyway, I’ve started reading this last week and it was exactly the same time I received my copy of the Opposition so I’m sorry, but I must admit I’ve set this aside momentarily and I have this post series depression from the Lux series so I find Shatter Me a little boring. I’m already at chapter ten I believe and I still want to give it a chance.  Plus I’ve read a lot of good reviews about it so I really want to at least like it.

Here are some of the good reviews:

Quite simply, a gorgeous book. I adored Mafi’s experimental, unorthodox prose, the way it punched me in the gut one moment and caressed me the next. The dystopian premise is nothing especially original, but the character of Juliette — oh, tormented, fragile, ferocious Juliette — and how Mafi describes her struggle with an unbelievable power elevates this book to a new, exhilarating level. In my opinion, SHATTER ME, while having an extremely commercial premise, borders on literary, and as someone who yearns for more unabashed, literary beauty in YA fiction, I couldn’t have been more delighted to sink my teeth into this wildly rich and *different* book. So intrigued to see how Mafi maintains her distinctive, lovely voice throughout the series.

Claire Legrand, Author of Winterspell

And may I just say, wow. It is simply stunning. Absolutely perfect. Every part of it. I adore the writing, even though I have never read a book like it before. I loved the words that were crossed out. Those were amazing. Because it let me see much better what Juliette was really thinking. 🙂 I also liked the world it was set in. Everything. Every little piece. And oh, Juliette’s power is amazing. I loved it. Very much (A) Wish I had it too. Hih. The best thing, however, is Adam. Adam Kent. The most adorable, sweetest boy. ❤ I also wish he was mine. And I just couldn’t help falling in love with him 🙂

Carina Olsen

My favorite. The world here in Shatter Me is very futuristic and I really can imagine it just from reading. Juliette is really a very different girl and her sufferings and her power is superior. I can’t wait to read Unravel Me.

Kim Ciara

And not so good reviews:

This is not a dystopia, it is a romance. This is not a novel, it is a collection of similes and metaphors, most of which do not make sense. I originally gave Shatter Me two stars because that’s my sort of kneejerk reaction to books I don’t like, but after thinking it over for a while, I can’t recall anything positive about it that would justify a rating of more than one star.

Emily May

Didn’t finish. I simply stopped reading this book today, and it wasn’t because it was boring or anything like that. I just did not care for Mafi’s writing style. The over use of metaphors and strikeout tools caused a constant distraction, and the book was just not interesting enough for me to want to struggle through something that annoyed me so much.

Meg ♥

Mafi’s prose is packed with metaphors. If you took out 90% of them, it would be okay. But instead, they just fill the pages with distracting imagery that, at least half of the time, doesn’t work at all. Juliette is a painfully developed heroine. I used “developed” and “heroine” in the loosest sense.

Jennie

I’m a little concern about the negative reviews on this book because so far, I’m feeling a bit negative about this too. Chance. Chance. Chance. Yeah. I’ll still give it a chance. As I’ve mentioned, I really want to like this at the very least. Book review to follow. Happy reading to me!

nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

