Currently Reading #18

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

(Percy Jackson and the Olympians companion book)

A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.’ So begins Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic–and sarcastic asides–to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who’s who of ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back. ‘If you like horror shows, blood baths, lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that.’ Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume–a must for home, library, and classroom shelves–as stunning as it is entertaining.

Goodreads

+++

I think I really need to write an apology letter to Mafi since I have set aside Shatter Me. Again. I’m not certain, but I really got jaded. I don’t think I would continue reading it in the meantime and guess what I’ve received just now? A companion book from my all time favorite series. Oh. God. I want to cry. Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods. That would be tears of joy for that matter. I couldn’t explain how happy I was staring at the book for like an hour or so before it really sinks in that I have this. I want to marry it. Gee.. I’m a lunatic! Sorry for freaking you guys out. Ha! Ha! I’m just so thrilled. This just makes me longing for The Blood of Olympus more. I died.

Got some good reviews for you:

Rick Riordan has written a masterpiece – whether you are a veteran of the Greek myths or this is your introduction, one cannot help but to be vastly entertained. To tell the stories from the perspective of a modern day, teenaged Demigod (from NY!) is sheer brilliance.

Brian

Holy crap, it was epic! I forgot how much I’ve missed Percy narrating. I mean, as great as the Heroes of Olympus are, third person just isn’t the same. But this. . . . this was everything that was promised – snark, sarcasm, mythology and humour all wrapped up in one long, satisfying package. 5 stars definitely, and can’t wait for the Blood of Olympus (it’s coming soon, guys!!!!)

Alexa

This book was just so much fun. I absolutely loved getting back into Percy’s POV. I really like the way the myths were told, I don’t know what I was expecting but it wasn’t that. And the illustrations, oh my gods. Beautiful. Gorgeous. I want the picture in Poseidon’s chapter to be a poster on my wall, please. I knew most of these myths already, having been obsessed with Greek mythology even before reading the PJO series (thanks first grade history teacher, for actually being interesting). But I did learn a few new things, in particular about Demeter and Dionysus. All of the stories were very interesting and Percy’s commentary just made it especially awesome. And the physical book itself is just beautiful. Much love.

Emma

Believe me, I have tried looking for negative reviews, but this is all I’ve got to share. I can’t find anything else aside from this. Ohmy. I’m explaining this to be fair. Ha! Ha!

Let me clear this for you: to write a book about mythology with a couple of witted funny comments that’s really cool, actually that’s the best, but to write a mythology book with cheesy,silly jokes every couple of lines or so and with a very bad ‘prejudiced’ view about each god in the Greek myth ? that’s just bad, and pitiful…

Jane la rouge

I’ve read a lot of good reviews about it. Like 73% of the Goodreads people love the book. I’m so excited. I can’t wait to devour this and post my book review. Happy reading to me! Book review to follow! 🙂

nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

