Currently Reading #19

The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1)

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Goodreads

+++

I seriously had a hard time deciding which book to read first since I’ve got tons that I could choose from. Especially those that I’ve recently received. Ironically, this book is not anywhere on my Waiting on Wednesday posts, but I feel the need to read it. It looks so interesting. The book cover is amazing and the rundown really pulled me in. I’ve also read a lot of positive reviews about the book, particularly those book lovers I’m following through Goodreads. Believe me, those chicks really know what they’re saying. I love them. 😀

Here’s some of them:

The Winner’s Curse is such an amazing book. It has perfect writing, exciting plot and likeable characters. I loved everything about it. There wasn’t a single thing that I didn’t like. Which is rare. Though, I do wish it had never ended. And that ending is a little bit cruel.. but I loved it at the same time. I really enjoyed the writing in this book. It made it easy to connect to everything. And that is always a plus. Marie writes so beautifully. I cannot wait to read more books by her. She’s awesome.

Carina Olsen

Love love love love love. If you’re a fan of Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy or Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows the Stars series, you need to get your hands on this one ASAP. It has the feel of a historical fantasy without slotting neatly into either category, as well as a pensive mood and very romantic story.

Wendy Darling

When I first saw the cover of this book, if figured it would be an easy read, since I thought it would be one of those typical forbidden love stories between two people separated by society. But boy, was I wrong. This book is the perfect example for not judging a book by it’s cover. What I thought would be a cheesy love story proved to be much more. The story was written insanely well, by that I mean that there was not one tedious or boring part to read. It was perfectly paced, and ended with you wanting more.

Ericka

Negative reviews you say?:

Eh. Another boring stupid book, again, I was intised by the summary, but once I read this book, it was ssssooo boring and mediocre, the characters were not my favorite at all, I didn’t even finish the book.

Daniella Aizen

I Wanted to like this book to agree with the many good reviews But it was too Boring. It took me months to finish it because I was not interested at all. It took too many pages to get into the action and only a few to resolve it.

Melero Guerrisa

To be perfectly honest, I thought I’d seen the very bottom of bad young adult historical fantasy. Not gonna name names, but even among such esteemed company, The Winner’s Curse is a new low. However you want to measure it, plot, setting, character development, Marie Rutkoski’s latest book fundamentally fails at being anything other than bland, shallow, cliched, and predictable. Maybe I’m being spoiled by fond memories of Melina Marchetta, Kristin Cashore, and Maria V. Snyder, but I really expected more from this book, and all I got out of it was the biting anticipation of finishing a train wreck I just couldn’t look away from.

Mitch

I really want to love it like everybody else, but let’s see. I’m also bothered with the negative reviews. I’ll just watch out for for their issues and I’ll let you know on my book review. For now, happy reading to me! Book review to follow! 😀

nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

