Book Review: Don’t Look Back

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?’

Goodreads

Line

This is not anywhere on my Waiting on Wednesday list, but I got it and I’m pretty excited about this. I literally devoured it. Like I stuck my nose on it the whole day since I can’t, totally can’t afford to put it down. I practically stayed until two in the morning to finish it, though I need to be at work at 8am sharp. That’s how intense it is. I rarely read contemporary books since I’m a fantasy reader, but I really enjoyed this one that I totally forgot to include it on my list of Currently Reading. I’ve read this along The Winner’s Curse since sad to say, that book bored the hell out of me. Sorry.

Anyway, the writing is, well, it’s Jennifer Armentrout. If you know what I mean. Amazing and I must confess that apart from The Lux series, this is my favorite among all of her books. This is basically an easy read. The good thing is, the plot is so twisted and so unpredictable it turned out pretty good. That moment when you already had an idea of how the events would turn up, then you were slap with a different twist is kind of thrilling. This crept the hell out of me. Scary in some parts when you’re thinking of all the possibilities why things are happening. That pretty much made me turn the pages as quickly as I could to figure out things. Yeah. I love the whole idea of the amnesia though the Mean Girls with a rich Queen Bee is so much of a cliche. Plus that concept when you need to marry someone because you’re rich and he is too. Not so original. Apart from that, everything is good.

The POV is with the main character Sam. She’s trying to figure what happened to her and her bestfriend when they disappeared. Having an amnesia while trying to prove that you didn’t kill your bestfriend is so hard for her. Especially when everybody suspected that she did it mainly because her bestfriend got the hots for her boyfriend and literally wanted to be her in every freaking way possible is well, creepy. Since she doesn’t recall a bit of what had happened before the “accident”, knowing she was all, but a bitch, made her think that she’s really capable of doing it. That is where her family and this hot childhood bestfriend came in the picture and kept her grounded when all she wants to do is go looney. I love the fact that she really tried to fix her life without the shadow of her old self. I also love how Jennifer had everybody played a part in the story and not solely focus on the main character. Like everybody played a vital role for the conclusion to be so good.

Sam’s journey throughout the book is written quite exceptionally that the conclusion of the story is mind blowing. I really didn’t see that coming. I don’t have the faintest idea that the one responsible for what happened was that person. Who that person was is what you need to read about. The reason and how it had happened is just so heartbreaking. It’s deep in nature and not something I thought was just so superficial it will make me roll my eyes. This is really out of Jennifer’s usual writing repertoire. If you’re a regular reader of her series, you would understand. I think that’s a good thing though.

Really recommending this book for mystery lovers out there. This is something fresh from the usual. I could have given it five stars, but I still have issues with some parts. Nonetheless, this is one awesome read that you really can’t miss.

4 STARnyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

