Book Review: Stolen SongBird (The Malediction Trilogy #1)

Name:Stolen SongBird
(The Malediction Trilogy #1)
Author:
Danielle Jensen
Number of Pages:
469 in Paperback
Published:
April 21st 2014
Genre:
High Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Magic, Fiction, Paranormal

Goodreads

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined. Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity. But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader. As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

Line

thoughts

Since I have a lot going on, I’ve read this book for a week. Yeah, you read it right. One bloody week. I won’t discuss how the story goes since it was practically shortened on the rundown. I’ll just discuss points which I like and points I tolerated.

I may say that the book is lengthy, but I got drawn to a magical world of Trolls that I didn’t realize the book is done and I’m craving for more. I must admit that there are some parts that I’ve skimmed. Sorry. A reader would need to be patient on this book. I mean really patient since I find pages that got me jaded. Don’t get me wrong. I like the book, but the plot somehow was too elaborate to my liking. There are parts that the writing drags and then there will be exciting parts and then it drags again. I think that’s not really cool. Nonetheless, the world building is so amazing. The city of Trollus though underground is depicted to be a magical place. From the magical garden to the carved stuff. That’s the thing, don’t be fooled by it’s enchanting setting. There are horrors and terrible things beyond it’s beauty.

The POV is with the main characters, Cecile and Tristan. Cecile is the heroine that would want to help though she may feel useless most of the time. I love her for her undying will not to be set aside. Stubborn? Yes. That’s one thing you would love her for. She’s considerate and never selfish. There are parts wherein she could think of herself, walk away and forget. She did once, but realized the consequences afterwards and decided not to pursue it. She is one strong girl. I love her for that. On the other hand, Tristan is a compassionate guy and yet he hides into this cold aristocrat to deceit those who would want him dead or gone. Politics is never clean. His devotion for his noble cause is something to be admired of. The other characters on the book are also note worthy. Especially Marc and Anais. They played a vital role on the book. Marc may look like a monster, but he is such a wonderful creature, so as Anais. I hate Anais in most part, but when I found out why she’s acting like a villain. It broke my heart. Indeed. Plus the things she’s done unselfishly for love yet she knew that the love would not be given in return. Tragic right? The romance part of the story is not forced and I love it. Cecile and Tristan grew together. I must admit that they’ve gone through so much difficulty considering that they didn’t trust each other most of the time given the situation. They’ve learned to trust and rely on each other gradually. I just love that there’s no InstaLove here.

recomm

I’m recommending this to all PATIENT readers. If you don’t have the patience to deal with a lengthy book, then don’t pick this up. It might bore you. It’s a decent and enjoyable read still, especially the last half of the book. How the book was wrapped up and how you may possibly think of reading the next book because of how it ended. This book has potential to be amazing. 🙂

rating

I’m torn between giving it a three star and a four star rating,
but I decided to give it a three. Hmm. Yeah.

3 Stars

nyze

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Stolen SongBird (The Malediction Trilogy #1)

  1. I read Stolen Songbird and I think it took even longer for me to read. I think I gave it a higher rating, but I agree there were parts where my attention wandered. I think the author was working hard to set up this complicated world and I did love the world. Very interesting. I need to try to find out if the next book in the series is going to get published since Strange Chemistry is out of business.

    • Oh really? I didnt know theyre already out of business. Let me know if you find anything. Yeah. I love the world too. I couldve given it a higher rating if there’s at least lesser dull moments. Sigh.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

