Book Review: The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny #1)

Name: The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny #1)
Author:
Jeaniene Frost
Number of Pages:
384 pages in eBook
Published:
August 26th, 2014 by Harlequin
Genre:
Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy

Goodreads

In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate.
Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just beyond her own. But when her sister goes missing, Ivy discovers the truth is far worse—her hallucinations are real, and her sister is trapped in a parallel realm. And the one person who believes her is the dangerously attractive guy who’s bound by an ancient legacy to betray her.
Adrian might have turned his back on those who raised him, but that doesn’t mean he can change his fate…no matter how strong a pull he feels toward Ivy. Together they search for the powerful relic that can save her sister, but Adrian knows what Ivy doesn’t: that every step brings Ivy closer to the truth about her own destiny, and a war that could doom the world. Sooner or later, it will be Ivy on one side and Adrian on the other. And nothing but ashes in between…

Linethoughts

I’m confused that this is from the Young Adult genre, but this falls under New Adult instead. My bad. Though after reading it, I can say that the feel of the book still inclines on the YA side. Anyway, I’ve seen this a lot lately and this has been on my shelf since August, I think. As a goody good book blogger, I’ve been religiously reading books my Random Reads (Proud of myself 🙂 ) and I’ve featured this book for my November Random Read.

The world building is not what I’ve expected. This is different from all the Angel and Demon books I’ve read before. There are gruesome scenes and terrifying creatures that one would not want to even imagine or want to dream about. To be honest, I even want to compare it with Tartarus when Demon Realms were mentioned, but then I’m surprised that this is way different. In a good way and I like it. I love it when books are unpredictable. The concept of the Demon Realms are surprisingly sinister. I even had goosebumps while it was being depicted. The plot is also amazing. Inspired from the good old David and Goliath feud and way back to Judas’ betrayals. I know you’re pretty much aware how he screwed up back in ancient times. The adventure is both thrilling and action-packed. It’s fast-paced from the very start. I can’t really afford to put it down since the mysteries were quite engaging. The book also has religious takes that a reader might be offended, but I think it’s presented rather needed to express the characters’ opinions or feelings about the situation. In the end, faith and courage is all that matters. I felt the need to throw this out since I’m Roman Catholic myself and this is a sensitive issue. So there. You’ve been warned. The book ended with an exciting note yet it totally broke my heart. You know the feeling of relief after a long day and someone would tell you “Hey! There’s more. You’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg.” thing and the famous “I love you, but this won’t work because blah blah blah”? Sucks every time. I wish I could have the second book now. The only thing that made me want to throw this away is the InstaLove. How could there be? An interesting plot and an exciting world, then you added InstaLove is just a bummer. I mean, come one. There are a lot of ways on how they can fall for each other other than a powerful pull that’s not even supposed to be there. It really helped that the plot is amazing for me not to dump this. Some hate love triangles and I really really hate InstaLove. To be honest, hate in an understatement.

Moving on with the characters. Ivy is such a strong girl. Being pulled on a bizarre and frightening world could definitely break a person to pieces considering all the bad things she’s gone through, but she pulled herself together. Powered with the need to rescue her sister and try to live a normal life again. She’s also willing to sacrifice everything to make things better and I admire her for that. Adrian on the other hand, is a lost soul. I feel for him. Somehow, I figured why he was doing those things, but it was vaguely presented here. That’s one of many reasons I want to have the second book the soonest. He’s a mystery I want to unravel. Ivy and Adrian have minions or sidekicks of their own. Namely Costa, Tucco and Tomas. They’re pretty cool and Tomas made me teary-eyed. That part made me want to hug him. Anyway, I want to have Brutus. Lol! Zach is the Angel or Archon, as they called it, who helped them throughout. Though he has his own moments. Angels having their moments are pretty weird right? Don’t you think? 😀

recommRecommending this to bookworms who are looking for a fast-pace paranormal adventure.
Remember that I’ve warned about some religious takes and if you’re not a fan of InstaLove..
Try a different read. 😀

ratingThe book has potential to be more amazing, but the InstaLove took a star away.

4 Starsnyze

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny #1)

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

