Book Review: Illusions of Fate

Name: Illusions of Fate
Author:
Kiersten White
Number of Pages:
275 pages in eBook
Published:
September 9th 2014 by HarperTeen
Genre:
Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Romance

Goodreads

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”
Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Line

thoughts

I’ve picked this book merely by its gorgeous cover and its intriguing blurb. I have read quite decent reviews so I’ve decided to get it and felt so excited when I finally got it. I’ve never tried reading any of Kiersten’s books so I thought this is something that could jump start my enthusiasm to check out her collection, but I’m afraid it turned out bad. Really bad. Believe me, I tried.

I can’t say that I hate the book, but it’s more of “I’m so disappointed”. I figured the plot has potential, but the writing messed it up drastically. It’s like singing a popular song with the wrong lyrics. Imagine how bad that is and you’ll understand how I feel about this. I didn’t like how this is written. I’ve skimmed it. I got jaded. Can’t even believe that I’ve got to finish reading the book. The conversations are silly. I think that those are not even needed. If I’ll be removing all the parts that I don’t like? This book would only be just ten pages more or less. A lot of unnecessary things, thoughts and even characters. I kept looking for things that I could cheerfully share for this review, but I was left empty-handed after the last page. That bad. The element of magic didn’t really save the book for me. That part is not even developed into something engaging. They’re like magicians on a children’s party. PLEASE. The whole scheme spun around a power greedy aristocrat, who wanted the whole world for himself and will kill anyone who crossed his path or refused to bow before him. THAT’S IT. Everyone else were just an addition to the whole messy fiasco. The romance is an InstaLove hidden in an annoying pretending-to-be-hard-to-get-girl. I am so upset about that. Sigh. I was not expecting the twist at the end, but it also didn’t feel right. It was pulled out of nowhere. The highlight of the supposed to be confrontation is also ridiculously lousy. It was happening and then it’s done. I was like.. “Did that just happen?”. The events after that are as silly. I’ve expected it and I didn’t even care. The ending is somehow rushed and I was left in disbelief. I didn’t get any of it at all.

The characters are not presented well. They’re superficial and sad to say, annoying. Jessamin pretends to be that girl who can stand on her own, but eventually captured by fancy dresses, parties and aristocrats. She’s saying that she’ll not be pulled by the system, but in the end gave in because she’s ambitious. Finn is just your usual I’m-gorgeous-and-wealthy-so-you’re-mine guy. I tried to feel for him for what had happen to him in the past, but it’s poorly written that I ended up not connecting with him at all. The letters from and to Jessamin’s mother are of no use. I mean, what’s the point of that? Did I miss something? Sigh. Eleanor is the only character I love (She’s included on the ten pages of this book after I ripped the useless baloney contents). From all the uselessness of the characters here, I can’t even say how I love Eleanor. LOL! She’s the only thing here that actually made sense. Sir Bird also bothers me. That poor bird. Argh. I also didn’t get why the villain is doing all of those crazy things. Perhaps, he is also not presented well to readers to understand or even get the point. The other characters were… Ah! Forget it. This is so depressing.

recommI can’t decide if I’ll be recommending this, but then again we do have different views about everything. It didn’t work me, but it could for you. It’s still up to you if you want to risk (being bored, annoyed and feeling you’ve wasted your precious time) it.

ratingI would have given it a one star rating, but here’s a two for the effort (of annoying me).

Stars

nyze

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Illusions of Fate

  1. Gosh, it’s too bad this book was such a disappointing read…..I featured it on one of my previous WOWs, and LOVE the cover! Of course we all know that you can’t judge a book by its cover. Oh, well……I might get an ebook copy (and i don’t like ebooks), or just borrow it from the library. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! : )

    • I also tend to judge the book by its cover, but this.. This is.. Argh.. I suggest you borrow it from the library. I don’t want to be cruel, but this isn’t worth a cent. 🙂

  2. Aww, too bad it was a disappointment. I saw this one at the bookstore a couple of weeks ago and I was thinking of purchasing it but then something stopped me (i.e., one of the reasons is because of my almost-gone book budget) because I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy it. I may try to read it down the road but not so sure now.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

