The Mortal Instruments as a TV Series?

I haven’t been paying much attention to the TV/Movie world since I’m caught up with a lot of work, plus squeezing time to read and a whole lot more so I’m quite surprised when I read an article about this. I believe it was announced a month ago that the book series won’t be on the big screen anymore after City of Bones being a blockbuster. They will continue it as a TV series instead. They will start the production next year and from what I’ve read, recasting is possible.

“It actually makes sense to do (the novels) as a TV series. There was so much from the book that we had to leave out of the Mortal Instruments film. In the series we’ll be able to go deeper and explore this world in greater detail and depth.”
— Martin Moszkowicz, Head of Constantin

I’m really torn. About the book being on a TV series and for the possible recasting. I’m excited about it since I miss the book and it really broke my heart when the series finally ended, but I’m worried how they will pull it off. There could be two aftereffects out of this. One, it could be so good (say they follow how the book is written) and two, it could be overkill (if they would add some scenes out of the book to lengthen the series for profitable reasons since I’m pretty sure that this would be a hit on TV). Do you think my points are valid? I really do. The cast of The City of Bones is already awesome so recasting, I think, could create quite a buzz for those who love the first movie (Okay. Me included). I really want to know your stand on this so let’s vote it out.

If you will be asked to recast the series, who would you pick?

nyze

14 thoughts on “The Mortal Instruments as a TV Series?

  1. I didn’t liked the movie that much. I just felt like they let out too much. But I would definitely watch the tv show. And I would recast Jace, I just did not like Jamie Campbell Bower.

  2. I really loved this series but I didn’t think the movie was great it was good but it was lacking something. I don’t care if they recast or not. I am more worried they are going to mess it up so badly it wouldn’t even be at all close to the book.

  3. I think it would be weird to reboot with same people. Even though I love the guy who played simon, with his bad American accent and all. Jace needs to be dreamy…probably an unknown.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

