Book Review: Snow Like Ashes

Name: Snow Like Ashes Author: Sara Raasch Number of Pages: 422 in Hardcover Published: October 14th 2014 by Balzer + Bray Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Adventure, Romance, Dystopia

Goodreads

“A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making. Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since. Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again. So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own. ”

Line

thoughtsI have set this aside though I really want to read it as soon as I’ve received the book. That’s being mature really ’cause I’ve sworn to read what I received first then so on. Unfortunately, I have a lot of books lined up to read so I needed to wait before I could devour this and I’m telling you, the wait is so worth it. I did enjoy the book. Though there are a couple of parts that got me doing my signature “WTF! face”. That involves eye rolling and sighing that blows my hair out of my face. Now, let’s get to the specifics before you assume that I didn’t like this at all. You’re wrong! 😀

The writing is so good. Kudos to Sara for giving her readers something out of Angels vs Demons and the like. This is a combination of a little of dystopia (I’ve added that on the genre part at the top) and high fantasy. I’ve expected a lot of world building since this is the series’ debut and I guess I am quite right. The world building was so wonderful and really exceptional though. The Season and Rhythm kingdoms were so originally depicted, I had so much fun imagining each (I think I like Autumn and Winter best). How the people of each kingdom were presented was equally exceptional. How they look and their traditions. The whole concept of this book is really remarkable. What I did notice is that, the concept or how things work was (lengthy) discussed twice (Yeah. Twice. I’ve counted it) in different parts of the book. I find it a little annoying and confusing. I guess, that’s why the book is more than 400 pages. Lol! The element of magic confused me at the beginning, but it eventually made sense (Thanks for bombarding me with information about it throughout the book). What I’m really concerned about is the InstaLove and the obvious love triangle. I must admit the book didn’t really dwell in that (Thank Snow and Ice and Frost above!), but it also annoyed me. The combination of those two is disastrous when rolled in to one. Sigh. Sigh. Sigh.

“No matter how many times he puts me on the ground, he never looks anything, but handsome. He’s the kind of good-looking that makes me physically ache, makes me stumble for chairs when I’m caught unawares.”

This is from the first chapter, page six. Are you telling me this is not InstaLove? Really?

“But I just stand there, eyes narrowing to hide the fact that my initial reaction is to gape at Theron’s bare expanse of glistening skin. He’s shirtless — and it’s clear that Cordell subjects its men to rigorous chest exercises.”

After a couple of heartbeats she saw Mather and..

“But everything I want to say dies the instant I see him. Because –mother of all that is cold– he’s shirtless too, with only the locket half dangling around his throat and his freckled skin reflecting the sheen of a good workout. “

Now, we’re lusting over two shirtless guys?!? [INSERT MY WTF FACE] and there was this..

“Mather adjusts himself on his horse between us, his jaw setting. I tear my eyes away from Theron as a slow grin spreads across my face, and I want to laugh at the absurdity of this situation. Normal problems. Normal worries about suitors.”

Love triangles really sucks.. [INSERT MY WTF FACE AGAIN]

After that, I’m so relieved that it didn’t happen again so let’s move on. I somehow expected the twist on the plot, but still it excites me. Perhaps it’s the way it was written. Mysterious and appealing. Not just thrown out because the story needs it. I love Sara because of that. The plot as a whole toyed with my feelings. A roller coaster ride indeed. I smiled, got teary-eyed, felt relieved, giggled, got annoyed, felt giddy, got furious (This is toward Angra really) and a whole lot of emotions (That’s in random order FYI) from pages to pages. I didn’t even realize that the book is that long. Only after I’m finished. Yay. The whole adventure was so thrilling. That’s all I can say. I’m afraid I could spill spoilers if I won’t put a period after that. Sorry. The war itself satisfied my hunger for bloodshed (Seriously, I want to yell a battle cry like that of the movie 300. AWOO! AWOO! Lol). That’s exactly how a war scene should be written. Excellent. Excellent. (Slow clapping included) The book ending was amazingly done too. With the right amount of resolution and mystery that would make you want the second book like right about now. Just when the second book will be released? Huh? 😀

Let’s get to the characters before I look for a corner, rock my heels back and forth and wish the second book will be released tomorrow.  Meira. Meira. Meira. She’s so kick ass. I so love her. She’s feisty and with so much passion to help her kingdom though she was mostly set aside. She proved herself by herself alone and I’m proud of her. Equipped with so much stubbornness and the unyielding faith that everything will be alright if only they would do something. That’s my girl. 😀 Mather is.. I’m not sure. He’s sweet and confusing. I feel for him. All along he was led to believed that.. Argh. That’s a total spoiler so no. Let’s move on to Theron. Theron. Oh Theron. I love him (So I’m Team Theron now 🙂 ) He’s everything you need for a book boyfriend. I think that’s enough for you to fully grasp what he is. I’m grinning from ear to ear now. Like a lunatic. Lol. I feel for him on certain situations too. He’s a bit sad and I’m really hoping he could do what he really wants. Sir William got me teary-eyed. My heart was crushed in a billion pieces right there. The moment when I feel so downhearted, he surprised me and I felt so elated I nearly cried happy tears. So much for being a lunatic right? Angra on the other hand is pure evil. With all the things he’s done, all the hurt he casted upon so many people and all the lives he took without mercy? I want to break his ribs one after the other and knit them back together without anesthesia (Insert evil laugh). I know, that’s too much, but he deserves it really. Read the book and you’ll feel the same way I did. There are still so many characters to love on this book. If I will talk about all of them, then this should be a book. Not a blog post. Lol. 😀

recommI’m so recommending this for high fantasy seekers. I swear to all the Snow above you’ll love this. I can’t say much more other than that. Read it now or you’ll regret it. 😀

ratingIt really pains me not to give a five star rating, but the InstaLove and the love triangle really sucks. I’m so hoping this would not continue on the second book. Please Sara. Please. 😀

Stars

nyze

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Snow Like Ashes

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

