ARC Book Review: Under My Skin by Shawntelle Madison

Name: Under My Skin (Immortality Strain #1)
Author:
Shawntelle Madison
Number of Pages:
240 pages in eBook
Published:
December 9th 2014
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Goodreads

Everyone wants to either be a member of the Guild or work for them. Little does the populace know that the Guild hides sinister secrets… For Tate Sullivan, life in her small, coastal town is far from glamorous. The affluent lives of the Guild members and their servants isn’t something she has ever wanted. But all sixteen year-olds must take a simple test, and Tate’s result thrusts her into the Guild’s world, one where they hide horrible plans for those they select. Tate must fight the relentless General Dagon for control of her mind, body, and soul to keep the one precious thing she has always taken for granted: herself. Her only ally is the same handsome boy she is pitted against in General Dagon’s deadly game. Quinn desires nothing more than to end the life of General Dagon who has taken over Tate’s mind. While romance blooms between Tate and Quinn, General Dagon plots to eventually take over Tate’s body, and love might end before it even begins.

LinethoughtsI am so glad that CrushStar Multimedia LLC approved my request for an ARC of this book through NetGalley. Really kept my fingers crossed since I truly want to have this, though I don’t want to keep my hopes high. I fell in love with the book cover when I’ve stumbled upon it and the blurb really pulled me in. So I can’t contained my happiness when I received an email saying I was approved. That’s a first on NetGalley by the way ’cause I just recently created my account there. 🙂

I don’t usually find dystopia interesting since it’s depressing for me, but I’ve read a couple of dystopia books before that I really enjoyed. This book is actually quite striking. The writing is remarkable. Not difficult to grasp and really appealing. It will pull you in a world that’s so frightening, you would definitely want to wish it was a dream and you would eventually wake up. The feeling of being on the edge tickled my curiosity to continue reading. Like everything is unsure. So much to unravel. The whole plot is a riot of suspense. I can feel my heart thumping fast on my chest while I was reading it. Lol. The mere thought of having somebody else inside you that would sooner or later take over is both revolting and terrifying. Waking up without an idea of what had happened, ate steak while you’re a freaking vegetarian, why you’re wearing what you’re wearing and realizing a day has already passed without you being aware is so disturbing. Really disturbing is an understatement.

Like you’re fighting with another person inside your mind to stay insane and alive. Imagine having a town doing horrible things to teenagers to restore the elites’ brilliant minds by transferring them to a different body. How sick is that? It made me cringe on some parts. Plus General Dagon is not actually all sunshine and cute little bunnies. He’s evil. Truly evil so it was like fighting with evil inside you. The romance part is not forced and I like that. It was not also overdone. Just something to lighten the dark and creepy premise of the story. It was actually a breather on the plot. A little thing to remind the protagonist that there is so much more in life that she needs to look forward to. I also want to point out that there were no “When I saw him, I am weaken inside and all I want to do is be a prisoner of his toned arms.” moments on this. That’s what I liked most about this book. The only thing that I’m not happy about is the way it ended. I just felt that it was rushed. After the whole slowing things down. Being a bit detailed and all. The ending felt like short of substance. Was it really made that way so it was like a cliffhanger or something? To get readers excited for the second book? No idea.

Anyway, let’s get to the characters. I love Tate. She’s an ordinary girl. Nothing is so special about her. She’s not even beautiful. To be honest, I really think that she was chosen because she’s the weakest of them all. For General Dagon to take over her body easily. They thought she won’t put up a fight for her life, but they were wronged. I love her character development. From the weak girl to someone even she can’t recognize. She fights her own battle with little help and encouragement from people who love her. I think that’s important. Quinn on the other hand is a poor soul. I’m saddened about his brother. At first I really thought he was gone, but.. okay. Spoiler. Sorry. I hate Rebecca and love Des. I even love the butler and didn’t really care about the members of The Resistance. Tate’s cousin Zoe is also a fighter and I’m really proud of her. I’d like to read more about her on the second book. With that, I’ll surely wait for the next installment of this series since I’m definitely craving for more.

recommI’m definitely recommending this book for all dystopian lovers out there. This is not your usual dystopian though, but I’m pretty sure you’ll love this. The uniqueness of the plot and the premise would get you excited about the book.

ratingI could have given it a five star rating really, but the ending took a star out of it.

4 Starsnyze

4 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Under My Skin by Shawntelle Madison

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

