Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Name: The Young Elites
Author:
Marie Lu
Number of Pages:
355 pages in Hardcover
Published:
October 7th 2014 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Goodreads

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites. Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.
Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.
Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.
It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

Line

thoughtsI have longed to read this book for quite some time now and I’m very much excited about this. Read some awesome reviews and got recommendations from fellow book bloggers and friends. They’re surprised that I haven’t actually read some of Marie Lu’s books. I also wonder why. Lol. So when I finally posted a blog that I was about to read this, I’ve received a couple of comments that I’ll surely enjoy this and they’re absolutely right. I did. I so did. 😀

The writing is truly enthralling. From the very first page up to the last. I really thought that this is a dystopian book at first, but it’s a mystifying fantasy novel. I was hooked the moment I opened it. I must admit that there were books that bored me from the first couple of chapters, but this one was far from those. This book has so much FEELS on it. It was written for readers to take to heart every emotion the pages has to offer. Brilliantly written. Just brilliant (Slow clapping included). It made me really happy that I got to read this awesome book.

The world building is intriguingly dark and sinister. So many deaths. Blood being spilled here and there. Killing and being killed. Not what I expected and I loved it. Full of magical people and dark forces. I am fascinated how Marie has created a world where you can either make a stand for what you believe and fight to live or fade in the background and just die. You can’t be anywhere in between. Especially if you’re a malfetto. The plot has a lot going on. So many mysteries, betrayal and hunger for power. I can’t really tell who the good and bad guys are. A prince that would want to reclaim his throne and stop the vicious killing of malfettos like him and a girl who just wants to belong without being used. Simply complicated right? Add another guy who’s main goal is to rid of every malfetto to “cleanse” the world of abominations, as they call them. Wait. That’s not all. Add a bunch of powerful malfettos who can either be your friend or they can simply kill you if you can’t control your powers. A father who sells his children to rich merchants for self-gain and a sister that’s so perfect you’re confused if you’ll like or envy her because everyone prefers her instead of you. Not complicated enough? How about feeling so gleeful when you’ve caused a chaos? When you are so elated to feel people’s dread and fury because it strengthens you. When you desperately want to hurt people and somehow at the back of your mind, only a little part, was horrified because of what you wanted to do. Pretty evil right? I think that’s complex enough. I love this. I so love it. The romance part was so subtle. I can’t really say it is romance though. Like “I love you and I love you too.” Not like that. I think they’re in love, but more like a Facebook status.. “It’s complicated.” Lol. The twist with Adelina’s sister, Violetta, was the one I least expected, but I like it. I like that she’s not just a supporting character and I love what she is. The final battle broke me into pieces and I didn’t expect it too (Okay, this book has a lot that I didn’t expect). It was so intense and heartbreaking. Especially what happened after that. I nearly cried. Really. It’s like reality has slapped you straight at your face that you were never loved and that you weren’t really part of something. Sadface. The epilogue was a surprise and just so cruel since I was expecting that it would be longer. When I turned the last page, I was left with my WTF face and I really really want to yell “DAMN IT! I WANT MORE!”. See? I didn’t see that coming too and hell the second book will be released October of next year? Sigh.

Characters. Hmm.. I love each and every one. They’re presented so well, you could actually relate to all of them. There are a lot of characters here, but I will only talk about the main ones. It’s up to you to discover the rest of them. Let’s start with Adelina. She’s a broken girl. She was emotionally and physically ill-treated from her childhood up until the Dagger Society helped her. A resentful and a strong-willed protagonist. I can’t blame her and I love her for that. To be honest, I can really relate to her. Not with the “emotionally and physically ill-treated from her childhood” part though. She has this darkness inside her. She has done awful things and I kind of like her more because of that since I’m a “little” dark too. Lol. What I love most about her is that she’s so kick ass and that’s what I like my protagonist would be. I was like imagining her saying.. “Revenge is sweet!” with a sardonic grin on her face. Really love her. Enzo is the awesome leader of the Daggers. He loves his friends so much and he will do everything to protect them although it will cost him his life. He left me brokenhearted. So crushed. Teren is horrifying on the other hand. He’s so mad. Queen’s lover and a dog. He will pretty much do anything she wants. Whether to murder people or use them to get the power they’ve always wanted. I so hate him. Especially for all the things he did to Adelina and the Daggers Society. I love Rafaelle so much. Aside from Adelina, he’s what I love most about the book. He’s beautiful, kind-hearted and yet fierce. I love everything about him.

recommI would really really recommend this for everybody. Not for the faint hearted though. Lol. Just kidding. I love everything about the book so I could say that fantasy readers would find this book so awesome, so entertaining and so heartbreaking at the same time.

ratingHere’s a five! I can’t wait for the second book! 😀

Stars

nyze

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

  1. I liked this book too! This was the first book I read from Marie Lu and I really liked her writing style. I can’t wait for the next book (the ending was a shocker!!). I met her at a book signing after I read this and I asked her about Enzo but of course she wouldn’t say anything.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

