Waiting on Wednesday #33

was started by Breaking the Spine and serves to showcase those books
that aren’t released yet, but that we’re eagerly awaiting.

Name: Monstrous
Author: MarcyKate Connolly
Number of Pages: 432 in Hardcover
Published: February 10th 2015
by HarperCollins Children’s Books
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Middle Grade, Retellings

Goodreads

The city of Bryre suffers under the magic of an evil wizard. Because of his curse, girls sicken and disappear without a trace, and Bryre’s inhabitants live in fear. No one is allowed outside after dark. Yet night is the only time that Kymera can enter this dangerous city, for she must not be seen by humans. Her father says they would not understand her wings, the bolts in her neck, or her spiky tail—they would kill her. They would not understand that she was created for a purpose: to rescue the girls of Bryre. Despite her caution, a boy named Ren sees Kym and begins to leave a perfect red rose for her every evening. As they become friends, Kym learns that Ren knows about the missing girls, the wizard, and the evil magic that haunts Bryre. And what he knows will change Kym’s life. Reminiscent of Frankenstein and the tales of the Brothers Grimm, this debut novel by MarcyKate Connolly stands out as a compelling, original story that has the feel of a classic.

Line

Why Im WaitingI’ve been seeing this around and I’ve also read a review from Carina of Carina’s Books that also made me crave for this book. The premise is quite intriguing, especially because the book is presented as “Reminiscent of Frankenstein and the tales of the Brothers Grimm”. The book had me at that specific phrase. Who would not be captivated by that? The main character does have wings, bolts on her neck and a spiky tail? Perhaps that’s another reason why I want to have the book. Sounds so unique right? For a retelling lover like me, this would definitely be a treat. I also love the book cover. So cute! 🙂

I’ve found a giveaway from MarcyKate’s official website, but the winner was already selected last December so I’ve looked for another giveaway that I could join and share with you guys. While I was browsing Twitter, I’ve found this tweet from @locusmag (Locus Magazine).

I’ve checked the next tweet and really expecting that a lot has retweeted it and my chance is slim to none. Guess what? Only 19 people retweeted it and I hastily clicked the retweet button to grab my chance. Sorry guys, but you can’t join this anymore. The last spot was mine. Lol! 😀

You don’t have to worry, you can join the Monstrous Pre-Order Party!. If you have already pre-ordered the book, MarcyKate will send you a Swag Pack that includes a bookmark, a signed bookplate, a Monster Flash Card (info & fun facts about the monsters featured in the book!) and her undying love and gratitude. Hahaha! Limited to one swag pack per pre-ordered copy of Monstrous and it is open internationally until midnight of 2/9/2015 as per her blog. Where to pre-order? Any retailer would do, but you can pre-order a signed copy from Porter Square Books. You just need to indicate “Signed Copy” and your name so she can add a little sweet something for you. Click the link below so you can submit you request for a Swag Pack if you have already pre-ordered. 😀

MONSTROUS Pre-Order Party Form!

I didn’t find any blog or book tours though. Anyway, I’ve found this excerpt from MarcyKate’s blog.. 😉

“He brushes his finger over my chin.
“When you were human, I always said you were my greatest creation. Now you truly are.”
His expression always contains a hint of pain. I remind him of his wife.
My mother. I wish I could remember her. I wish I could remember myself.
Most of all, I wish to claw the heart from the wizard who did this to my family.
He is monstrous.”

I think I’ve covered everything. I’ll update this whenever I’ll find something new until this will be released. So always check back when you’re free. Okay? By the way, care to share the books you’re dying to read? Comment and I’ll check on it.

Nyze

6 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #33

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

