Currently Reading│Book Beginning : The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1)

Currently Reading #41

Name: The Burning Sky
(The Elemental Trilogy #1)
Author:
Sherry Thomas
Number of Pages:
376 pages in Hardcover
Published:
September 17th 2013
by Balzer + Bray
Genre:
High Fantasy, Young Adult,
Romance, Adventure

Goodreads

It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.
Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.
Guided by his mother’s visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

Line

I need to squeeze this on my reading schedule since I’ve sworn to stick with the Random Reads meme so I’m moving Tear You Apart after this. This book is my January feature, check here: January Random Reads. I’ve heard so many good things and I’m very much excited that I’m finally reading it. Thanks to Random Reads. I got to pick, yeah, randomly. Hihi 🙂 Anyway, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads. 😉

A new series to love! Looking forward to reading the subsequent books and seeing where it goes, as I think it has a lot of potential. These books are a cross between Harry Potter (with magic and world building) and the Infernal Devices books (with its character personalities and historical setting). There is a lot to remember as she introduces everything, but by the end I couldn’t put it down and I’m now very curious about what might happen next.
Jenn of Eating Bender

So beyond the problems with the world building, this is a good book. It is a light and fun read and well worth it. The slow burn romance is played out prefectly and you can actually believe the relationship between the two main characters. It doesn’t feel rushed at all. The Burning Sky has all the great elements of a good fantasy novel with fighting, romance, deception, magic, destiny and the fight between good and evil. Read it for the romance and the fun of it all but don’t focus too much on the world building.
Britt of Tara Belle Talking

DNF. I thought for sure I would love this since a few of my friends highly recommended it to me, but I hated it. The main characters are terrible and underdeveloped. Let me count the ways: Iolanthe is virtually a Mary Sue and can do no wrong. She is The One with the power to save them because of reasons and has the BEST of luck. *wink, wink* Prince Titus is a spoiled brat that wants everything his way. He even tries to manipulate Iolanthe several times to get her to do things by preying on her feelings. There’s also a romance that came out of nowhere, horrible world building (GAH, this is a fantasy novel, FFS!) and info-dumping all over the place. Also, I hated the narration. Maybe I should have not gone with the audio, but I tried the print too and it’s just a big old NOPE for me.
Steph of CuddleBuggery

I’m a little worried about readers’ concern in regard to the world building. I hope it won’t ruin the book since world building is such a critical thing for me. I tend to lose interest if it is written poorly so let’s see. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“Fire was easy. In fact, there was nothing easier. They said that when an elemental mage called forth flame, she stole a little from every fire in the world.”

Oooh. That’s an intriguing way to start a book. I love everything with magic and fire mages are kind of intimidating. Not unless if I’m a water mage. Lol! I would really love to know more about the characters on this book after reading its first paragraph.

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

Nyze

16 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1)

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

