Book Review: The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin

Name: The Blackwell Family Secret:
The Guardians of Sin
Author:
Jonathan L. Ferrara
Number of Pages:
230 pages in Paperback
Published:
December 5th 2014
by Dragonwell Publishing
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Goodreads

Nicholas Blackwell has no idea he is supposed to fulfill a destiny. All he knows is that he draws trouble like a magnet. Orphaned at seven when two demonic men killed his parents, he copes with the strict rules of his new home, St. Christopher’s academy, unaware that he has been the real target for the killers and that his guardian angel has saved him in the nick of time. And now, his problems are only beginning when a mysterious serpent lures him into the woods and tricks him into a demonic ritual that will unleash the Seven Deadly Sins to destroy the humankind. Nicholas has no choice but to correct his mistake–or die trying. Aided by Amy, a shy but determined girl who seems to know more about his task than she should, Nicholas’s quest is to travel into the City of Demonio and defeat the Seven Guardians of Sin. To succeed, he must confront demons, monsters, and lost souls, learn the mysteries of the Chapel of Dreams, discover the true meaning of friendship and love, and face the darkest secret of all: the Blackwell Family Secret.

Line

ThoughtsI’ve squeezed this on my reading schedule since the publisher already sent me an email looking for my review. I felt so irresponsible for forgetting about the book. I just have a lot of books lined up to read and somewhere in my crazy book schedule, I wasn’t able to include this. Anyway, my friend Rachana forgot about this too so I felt better. Lol! Just kidding.. Anyway, I’ve had mixed feelings about the book that I had troubles rating it. Let’s get to the specifics then..

The writing is simple and appealing. An easy read really. A reader might find some parts overwhelming especially the part where how it all begun is being discussed, but still I find it easy to read. To be honest, it felt like Harry Potter all over again. Wait. I didn’t mean it in a bad way. I’ve missed Harry because of the book. Nicholas is like Harry in a sense that his parents were also murdered and he’s destined to greatness. Amy, in a way, is like Hermione or so I thought. His demon sidekick Pugdush is like Doby. The serpent is like Voldemort and St. Christopher’s Academy is a little like Hogwarts. Plus the thought that Nicholas needs to fight seven Guardians of Sins which pretty much like the seven adventures that Harry Potter had. I don’t know if it’s just me or readers actually noticed it too.

The world building is interesting though. Aside from St. Christopher’s Academy, there’s Demonio which is somewhat the purgatory, if I’m not mistaken, but there are places in Demonio that’s actually depicted like Hell itself. Weird. The concept of the entire book which is related to religion is interesting enough for me to continue reading. There are funny parts that actually made me grin too. Other than that, I also want to discover the secret of the Blackwell family. However, how the plot is carried out is not what I’ve expected. I find it puzzling that the serpent easily lured Nicholas to commit a sin to actually made him fight the Guardians. That part is insubstantial. It’s also so convenient that they’ve met the Risen Demons (Demons who doesn’t want to be evil anymore) who helped them complete the quests right upon arrival to Demonio. Hmm. Like everything were made easy for them. The battle between Nicholas and each of the Guardians was so anti-climatic. It still made me sad though it was explained on the latter part why it was like that. I was expecting something epic and action-packed, but they’re not. What I like most about the book is the twist about Amy and Gabriel. With Amy, it’s sad and exciting at the same time and I wasn’t expecting that of Gabriel. As for the Blackwell family’s secret, I’ve kind of anticipated it, but not the part where he’s a descendant of.. Oops. That’s a spoiler. Lol! You have to read the book so you would know (wink). The final battle was not so epic too and I was disappointed again. I was expecting more. Anyway, I like how the book ended. It made me happy that the author had it exciting and it’s not done overly so I guess that’s a good point for the book.

With the character development, I may say that Nicholas has gone from the easy-going boy to a more responsible one. I used to hate him a little at the beginning ’cause he seemed foolish. On the course of the adventure, he learned to be more in control and a bit mature so I like that. Amy is a different case. I was so sad when I’ve read what had happened to her before and I feel so relieved when Gabriel gave her a chance to choose. There aren’t many characters on the book that’s really noteworthy aside from these two, but I love Pugdush. As I’ve mentioned, he’s one of the risen demons and he loves chocolates so I love him. He’s the super sidekick and he’s funny too.

RecommendationThis is a nice read indeed despite some issues I had so I’m recommending it for readers who have missed Harry Potter. Lol! But if you want to read an epic action-packed adventure,
I really wouldn’t recommend this book ’cause you might end up disappointed like me.

RatingYeah. It’s a three, I think..

3 StarsNyze

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin

  1. I’m wondering, since you’ve made a comparison to Harry Potter, if this one is a bit more subtle on the magic, wizardry and overall enchantments? I actually haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books because of this ha ha! No seriously, it’s a weighty series for me 😛

  2. Haha yes I need to hurry up and review this book! …but I have 3 other books to review which were *also* published in December 2014! Anyway, I’ve finally gotten through quite a few ARCs and now my read/reviewed to requested ratio is up to 47%! 😀

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

