My Week in a Wrapped #18

SundayPost

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

The week has been ordinary until I received a notice from the Postal Office about the books I need to claim. I received the notice just yesterday when it was stamped the 6th of January and I need to claim it 30 days after that date. There wouldn’t be a problem since I still have two weeks before they throw it away right? Lol! By the way, those books are my prizes for Colleen Houck’s Book Club chat with Veronica Rossi in November. Since I’m from the other part of the world, yeah, the Post Office only received the parcel January. I’ve asked friends how to claim it since this is the first time I received a notice from them. My books are usually delivered right at my doorstep. To my surprise, a friend of mine confirmed that I need to pay certain taxes for it. I tried calling the Post Office, but no one’s answering, then I realized it was a Saturday so I’ve searched for blogs where I could check how much they usually charge for a parcel. I was so enraged by what I’ve found out. They would convert the value of the parcel in our own currency which is in Peso ($1 = P14.66) so it will cost way more, but wait there’s so much more. I also need to pay the postage/postal fee for the item (equivalent to the courier/shipping fee), Import Processing Fee of P250, plus Documentary Stamp Tax of P265. Then you need to pay 12% Value-Added Tax on the sum. OMG! OMG! (Insert my WTF face!) I. CAN’T. BELIEVE. IT. I nearly cried. I’ve read a lot of complains about it all over the net and I’ve found one article confirming that just recently the Import Processing Fee was scrapped and the Doc Stamp Tax was reduced to P15.00. Still! That’s too much, especially with books that I’ve waited for ages and didn’t even buy. For God’s sake, those are prizes! I need to pay them taxes much more that what the parcel is worth. Are you fudging kidding me? I don’t know what to do now. I WANT THOSE BOOKS! 😦

Line

Last Week On The Blog

Next Week On The Blog

  • Will check for recent updates for books I want
  • Teaser Tuesday #27: The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1)
  • Waiting on Wednesday #34: Still checking my Wish List
  • Book Review: The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1)
  • Currently Reading #42: Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross
  • Book Beginning: Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross
  • Book Blogger Hop (January 30th- February 5th)
  • Weekly Photo Challenge (A new theme)

Currently Reading

Name: The Burning Sky
(The Elemental Trilogy #1)
Author:
Sherry Thomas
Number of Pages:
376 pages in Hardcover
Published:
September 17th 2013
by Balzer + Bray
Genre:
High Fantasy, Young Adult,
Romance, Adventure

Goodreads

It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.
Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.
Guided by his mother’s visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

Around the Blogosphere

I want to have this part dedicated to book lovers I’m following 🙂

Newly Owned to Read

After almost three weeks of not acquiring books, I can’t help myself anymore. Lol!


Do you have a Sunday Post too? Please leave your links on the comment box. 😀

LineLinking this up with Stacking the Shelves

Nyze

22 thoughts on “My Week in a Wrapped #18

    • That’s no biggie babe. I’m enjoying the book so far and I also have the second book. Do you have a review that I could check? Hit me up with your link. 🙂

  1. In my country, we don’t have to pay that much to get the books that were sent to us but we need to find a post office that’s open at a time and day when we don’t work – fewer and fewer post offices, less opening hours… 😦 I hope you have a better week 😉

  2. Thanks for linking up to my review, my blog’s been quiet lately as I had computer trouble but hopefully i’ll be back to regular posting now :). What a nasty surprise those postage charges must have been, especially when the books were prizes. Very frustrating, especially if you were looking forward to getting them. Hope you enjoy your other new books – the Frostfire cover is gorgeous!

    • No biggie babe and welcome back! Yeah. I haven’t seen you in a while. It’s nice to hear that everything’s okay now. I hope I could claim my books with lesser fees to pay though. Anyway, FrostFire’s cover is indeed gorgeous. 🙂

  3. That sounds like a nightmare. I often do International giveaways on my blog and I hope no one has run into that problem when I send their books. Haven’t heard anything back about it. I have had to pay shipping on books I won before. Handled that through PayPal though. I hope you work things out.
    Enjoy your need reads. Quite a nice haul this week!

    My Sunday Post – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/01/25/whats-new-on-my-bookshelf-94-and-the-sunday-post/

    • The author already paid it when she sent it to me so I really don’t get it that I also need to pay for the books. Too bad! I’m really hoping I could work it out somehow. Thank you babe! ♥

    • I’ve read a blog that they also need to pay for a parcel that’s supposed to be Christmas gifts so I guess there’s no exceptions for prizes and the like. 😦

  4. Good luck with the post office! The ones here in the States aren’t much fun to deal with but it’s mostly just standing in long lines versus having to pay outrageous amounts! Hope it turns out to be cheaper but if not what a decision! Especially since the books are just right there! Hope it all works out and have a great week!

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

