Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 0.5) by Marissa Meyer

Currently Reading #43

Name: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 0.1)
Author:
Marissa Meyer
Number of Pages:
256 pages in Hardcover
Published:
January 27th 2015
by Feiwel & Friends
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance,
Science Fiction, Retellings,

Goodreads

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told. Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all? Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now. Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Line

Oh wow! The wait is finally over. I didn’t get this on its birthday since I was broke then. Lol! But I’ve grabbed it the moment I’ve got enough funds to cover at least the kindle edition. I’ll get the hard copy later. It might take forever to get to the Philippines too so nahhh! 😀 I’M SO EXCITED! 😀 Anyway, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads.

I think the most amazing this about this book is that, before I read it, I didn’t think I was interested in Queen Levana. I liked her in the Luna Chronicles, but I wasn’t really interested in learning her back story. But this book was amazing. Marissa Meyer was able to make the evil queen of the Lunar’s sympathetic without making her actions rational or forgivable. Levana is a horribly messed up and misguided woman, and her traumatic past, while shedding light on it, does nothing to excuse her. And I like that in a villain.
Now, how am I going to survive until “Winter?”

Kelly of Totally True Adventure

There were some aspects I liked in Fairest. Seeing Winter and Selene as children, the excerpt from Winter, Marissa’s writing (which was as good as always) and finally understanding why Levana is the way she is. With that being said, Fairest was a little too dark and twisted for my tastes. I don’t think this is a necessary read for Lunar Chronicle fans, but I’m glad I read it, even if I wasn’t head over heels in love with it like the rest of the books.
Kristina of Kristina’s Books and More

I like this series, I really do. But this novella went way too far, and I can only hope Winter doesn’t make the same mistake. My advice for people reading this series? SKIP THIS ONE. You don’t need to take a trip through the twisted mind of Levana.
It’ll make you feel dirty all day, maybe longer.

Hannah of The Writer’s Window

I’ve read a lot of reviews that the book is actually too dark, but still a lot find it so amazing. I guess nothing would make me hate the book. Unless if it will drastically borders to boring and of course erotic which is so impossible. Lol! Hmm.. Let’s see. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow.

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“She was lying on a burning pyre, hot coals beneath her back.
White sparks floated in her vision but the mercy of unconsciousness wouldn’t come.
Her throat was hoarse from screaming.”

Ooohh.. Pretty intense way to start a book. It’s obvious that they’re burning her alive and I can vividly recall the smell of burning flesh when I’ve gone through a warts removal procedure. Ew. The excruciating pain of scorching skin. So I think I pretty much understand why she’s hoarse from screaming. I’m sure that hurt a lot. Right? 😦

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

Nyze

16 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 0.5) by Marissa Meyer

  1. I was on the fence about this one. So many mixed thoughts from others. But, when you mentioned what others were saying about it being too dark, that’s what made up my mind to read it. I like dark. LOL Adding it now!

  2. Haha, I jumped when the figure moved while I was reading the synopsis. Such a silly girl, I am.

    I’m a little behind on this series; I haven’t finished (or started) Cress yet. I think I’m going to wait and marathon when Winter comes out.

    Hope you can check out my BB/56

    Cheers,
    Page @ Never Enough Shelf Space

    • Haha! That’s okay babe. If I didnt know it was a GIF, I would probably jump too. 🙂

      Oh that’s a good idea. I would love to reread the entire series when Winter comes out 🙂

  3. Omg look at that cover! It’s moving!! It’s like a picture in the Harry Potter world! I like books that are slightly, or extremely, dark, and I have been dyyiiiinng to read the Lunar Chronicles. I really have to get on it! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

