Book Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Name: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 0.1)
Author:
Marissa Meyer
Number of Pages:
256 pages in Hardcover
Published:
January 27th 2015
by Feiwel & Friends
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance,
Science Fiction, Retellings,

Goodreads

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told. Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all? Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now. Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Line

ThoughtsI have conflicted feelings when Marissa Meyer announced this new novel in June last year because she also confirmed that Winter will be moved in November 2015. Actually dying to read Winter after finishing the fascinating Cress only to find out that I won’t be getting Winter any time soon then. Don’t get me wrong. Not that I’m complaining. I said conflicted since I’m so excited to have Fairest too. I would love to know where Levana’s wickedness came from or she’s just born with it. Lol 😀

This book is truly amazing and Marissa as always is brilliant. I’ve finished reading this in one sitting. Yay! Fairest is narrated through Levana’s POV and it started with her disturbing relationship with Channary, her older sister. Their relationship is a downright example of sibling bullying. She felt so alone and unloved. It’s heartbreaking. I feel sorry for Levana for having to go through all of those when she was younger. At first, I’ve concluded that it was the reason she turned wicked, but I realized I’m wrong. She’s just plain crazy. Lol! I must say that it affected her too. Since growing up verbally abused (also with occasional physical abuse) is damaging. She grew up to be a self-conscious girl, but I love her determination to be useful when Channary can’t. I think that’s human nature. If you are fully aware that something is unusually wrong with you, you tend to excel in something else. To compensate for the things you are not. I think a lot would agree with that and that’s what Levana did. I admired the intentions and I understood where she’s coming from, yeah, but she still needs a psychiatrist. Seriously.

Because of her insecurities, she’d done pretty awful awful things (That’s not a typographical error. Lol!). Thought of them, plotted, hesitated and made them happen eventually. She’s as corrupted as giving justifications for the terrible things she’d done to make them the right thing to do somehow. Sick and self-centered I may say. The book also showed me Levana’s equally disturbing “love story”. This is with Winter’s father, Evret Hayle. She had lived on her delusions of him loving her. Believing all her life that he actually loves her despite her manipulations which is so sad. You should really read the book for you to completely grasp how sickening the love story was. Lol! Apart from Levana’s back story, the book furthermore presented how the virus was developed and their plans to take over Earth. How they’re using shell babies for their evil schemes that made Lunars want to escape. Fairest also let me have glimpses of Selene (Cinder), Winter and Jacin’s early childhood days and bonus chapters from Winter!

I really love how twisted this book is, but it was too short that I end up wanting more. You know what, I realized that Levana basically is not pure evil. She wants what’s good for her people though her ways were not generally acceptable. Perhaps the goals are good, but the ways were carried out cruelly. As for her personal struggles.. I really believe that she just wants somebody who can truly love her for what she is. However, would you want to love her if it was you? (INSERT EVIL LAUGH) 😀

RecommendationAre you kidding? Of course, I recommend this. Wickedly awesome! If I may add, you guys really need to read Cinder, Scarlet and Cress first before this one because there were spoilers from the first three books and for you to completely relate to everything.

RatingDefinitely a five ♥♥♥

StarsNyze

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

  1. Great Review. I still need to get mine up. I found Fairest disturbing but I loved it. It is not easy being inside the mind of someone so twisted and evil. Whatever bit of pity I felt for her in the beginning was quickly gone as she got more and more disturbed.

    • I totally felt the same way. I was like feeling sorry for her and then the next minute, I want to strangle her. Lol! Thanks for taking the time to read babe ♥

  2. I agree, we totally should have done a joint review; it’s so parallel to what I perceived! I love your thoughts especially how you shed light on the sibling bullying; it was horrid! I loved Channary though, more then Levana even. I find it even more interesting how she is Cinder’s mom! Cinder is so kind and selfless, I wonder what her response will be when and if she discovers what her mother did to Levana :/

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

