Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Currently Reading #44

Name: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2)
Author:
Leigh Bardugo
Number of Pages:
432 pages in Hardcover
Published:
June 4th 2013
by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal

Goodreads

Darkness never dies. Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long. The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Line

As you may have noticed, this is already the second book of the Grisha series. Are you wondering where in the hell is my Shadow and Bone (Grisha #1) feature? I wasn’t able to feature it since I’ve finished the book in one sitting. Seriously. I loved it. Book review would be up probably later today or tomorrow. Yay! Because of that, I’ve started reading Siege and Storm as soon as I’ve turned Shadow and Bone’s last page. I can’t help, but wonder why I left this entire series sitting in my shelf catching dusts for ages now. Haha! Anyway, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads. 😀

I adored this book because it finally lived up the expectations and potential. Did I want political plots, unexpected alliances and shocking identities? Well now I have them. Did I want the most perfect male character in the series? Now I have him. Sorry Darkling girls, I’m a Nikolai gal all the way (more fangirling to come). Did I want amazing new characters and gorgeously described new settings? Let’s throw in a sea and now I have them. Every single new aspect of this book was incredible and it made it so much better, all the development the series needed was in this book.
Silvia of Granger and her Books

I loved book one but thought book two was kind of just….okay. I was evenly excited at parts and annoyed at others. For example, Mel, the boyfriend, is a jealous, insecure guy who confuses Alina and makes her feel bad about trying to save their country. I tried to understand his point-of-view—his girlfriend is a powerful Sun Summoner, afterall, but I wanted her to ditch him and get with my new favorite character, Nikolai.
Overall, this book was just okay. It’s kind of the “set up” for the series, which made it very dull and boring until the very end. I’m excited to read book three.
Lauren of Life Between Reads

I was bored out of my mind. Nothing much happened except at the beginning when The Darkling showed off his newly acquired power and recaptured Alina and Mal. Also, we were introduced to Sturmhound who turned out to be Prince Nikolai, the youngest son of the king and Queen of Ravka – he was only mentioned in the Shadow and Bone. He was written as the usual witty smartass prince who would most probably charmed the pants out of every girl he wanted.
Michelle of The Reader and her Books

A lot of the one star reviews were complaining that they got bored and a lot of the five star reviews loved the new characters. Hmm.. The reviews were quite split up and that made me want to read this more. Let’s see. 🙂 Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow.

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“The boy and the girl had once dreamed of ships, long ago, before they’d ever seen the True Sea. They were the vessels of stories, magic ships with masts hwen from sweet cedar and sails spun by maidens from pure thread of gold.”

Sounds really fascinating right? And the writing is quite lovely. This is why I love fantasy books. It would let you imagine the impossible and be where everything is possible. Teehee 😀

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

Nyze

12 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I want to read this series sooo bad! Not only are the covers ridiculously pretty, but the story also sounds absolutely fascinating and just so intriguing! Ugh, I guess the time has come for me to properly shill out and buy it! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

