Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) by Leigh Bardugo

Currently Reading #45

Name: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3)
Author:
Leigh Bardugo
Number of Pages:
417 pages in Hardcover
Published:
June 4th 2013
by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal

Goodreads

The capital has fallen.
The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne. Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army. Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives. Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

Line

I love this book’s cover. So gorgeous! Don’t you think? 😉 This whole fangirling over the Grisha series started when I’ve chosen Shadow and Bone for my February feature of the meme Random Reads and man I’ve not regretted it. I usually just read the first book for my monthly feature then, schedule the rest of the books for later reads. It was different for the Grisha series though. I’ve read book after book until I realized I’m on the last installment of the series. Book review for Siege and Storm will be probably be posted tomorrow. For now, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads. 😀

This book was everything and more. Where I had issues with certain things in the previous book, this one made up for it all. All the things I wish never happened or didn’t really understand in the previous parts; made sense to me in this one and that is what makes this such a brilliant conclusion. Overall, I think everything played out brilliantly, even if some things came as a surprise or a shock. I got the finality and conclusion a final book in a series should always contain. It was brilliantly written, intriguing and I will forever cherish it. Getting all emotional now…
Nawall of Nawall Loves to Read

But Ruin and Rising wasn’t all bad. Honestly, it was only in the last 50 or so pages that everything went to hell, BUT it went to hell spectacularly. The beginning was a bit slow, but it adequately communicated Alina’s similar frustration at being forced to sit around and do nothing, and when things like that happen, I usually give them a pass, b/c I’m too impressed, on the off chance it was deliberate. If you aren’t bothered by my broken rules, then there’s a good chance you’ll like the final installment of The Grisha  infinitely more than I did, and regardless, if you’ve read the first two books, it’s definitely worth finishing. SO . . . recommended with qualifications.
Jessica of RabidReads

I have read the 40% of this book and I am properly spoiled for the ending, so decided to just read the part about the Darkling’s background story and go to bed. I think I’ve had enough horrors with Alina’s point of view, and my “Grisha” reading marathon is officially over. Maybe someday I’ll recover from the trauma Siege and Storm caused me, and decide to find out how Alina resolved her wonderful love quartet.
PS: I give it 1 star because I liked the overworn Idea of the underground maze of tunnels and Alina’s new haircolor.
Demetra of Floating in a Thousand Worlds

To be honest, I have some issues with Siege and Storm (Grisha #2) that I’m worried about the reviews I’ve read about this book. But a lot has conflicted feelings. That made me want to read more. Let’s see what happens. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“The monster’s name is Izumrud, the great worm, and there were those who claimed ha had made the tunnels that ran beneath Ravka. Sick with appetite, he ate up silt and gravel, burrowing deeper and deeper into the earth, searching for something to satisfy his hunger, until he’d gone too far and lost himself in the dark.”

OMG! That’s so terrifying. I wouldn’t wander in those tunnels. Wait. How big is that worm? It really depends on how big he is. If he’s tiny, I could just step on him or I will be running screaming if he’s a tower big. Lol! Wouldn’t you? 😀

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

Nyze

14 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. It is an intriguing cover and I am curious to see what your final verdict is on the book. Sometimes differing reviews will make me even more curious about a book and I feel the urge to find out for myself. 🙂 One mans trash is another mans treasure.
    sherry @ fundinmental Friday Memes

  2. The covers on the series get me every time I see them! I know next to nothing about the series but I want to read them just based off the covers! The beginning definitely doesn’t sound good. Any creature that has such an appetite that he keeps burrowing deeper down is never a good sign and plus a giant worm is never a good thing!

    • I agree with the covers. Im a sucker for gorgeous ones. It could not be good but I always check out a book for it before reading the blurb. Lol. This series has issues but interesting nontheless. Have a great week 🙂

    • I’ve come across some issue too and I’ll discuss it on my Siege and Storm review, but I like the series generally. Can’t wait to finish Ruin and Rising.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

