Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

Currently Reading #47

Name: Suspicion
Author:
Alexandra Monir
Number of Pages:
368 in Hardcover
Published:
December 9th, 2014
by Delacorte Press
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Romance, Thriller

Goodreads

Mysterious. Magnificent. Creepy. Welcome to Rockford Manor. “There’s something hidden in the Maze.” Seventeen-year-old Imogen has never forgotten the last words her father said to her seven years ago, before the blazing fire that consumed him, her mother, and the gardens of her family’s English country manor. Haunted by her parents’ deaths, Imogen moves to New York City with her new guardians. But when a letter arrives with the news of her cousin’s untimely death, revealing that Imogen is now the only heir left to run the estate, she returns to England and warily accepts her role as duchess. All is not as it seems at Rockford, and Imogen quickly learns that dark secrets lurk behind the mansion’s aristocratic exterior, hinting that the spate of deaths in her family were no accident. And at the center of the mystery is Imogen herself–and Sebastian, the childhood friend she has secretly loved for years. Just what has Imogen walked into?

Line

I’ve had this for a while now and my excitement to read the book was dampened by a huge amount of negative reviews I’ve read. So I forgot about it. I’ve featured this on a Waiting on Wednesday post November of last year and a lot has been so excited then. I hadn’t had the chance to get the book after it was published for I’ve hoarded so many books and badly needed a break in buying more. There. This is my feature for the meme Random Reads for the month of March and I just realized I have it sitting there. I’ll try my best to read it okay? 😀 For now, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads.

Suspicion is a confused book. There’s no doubt about it. But that is what makes this book stand out. Alexandra Monir was able to bring together many different genres to create a whole new story that’s for everyone. Like romances? Here you go. How about a princess book? Okay. Murder mystery? Check. Ghost story? Definitely. I said before, I loved everything about this book. It was everything I could have asked for, and more, all wrapped up with the beautiful cover to draw your eye. There were definitely somethings not rounded out by the end of this book, that is for sure, but it leave it both open to interpretation and, who knows, maybe a potential sequel. I will definitely 100% read this book again. And all the other ones by Alexandra Monir.
Lea of Paperback Princesses

This one is a hit or a miss. Honestly, I think it lacked a lot of depth, so you could skip it and move on with your life and there would be losses. The cover is GORGEOUS, but the story, meh. Rating: 3 stars. I liked the story – I enjoyed it while I was reading it. But I wouldn’t re-read this one, or buy it. It’s not the most impressive use of the elemental magic or a labyrinth that I have seen.
Alyssa of Eater of Books

I was so excited to read Suspicion. I love Rebecca and the tale started off well, but quickly fell apart for me. Rockford Manor was deliciously creepy. Sadly the magic felt carnival like and the insta-love didn’t win me over. I struggled with the underdeveloped characters and I failed to believe events as they unfolded, There were holes in the plot and threads left unanswered. The mystery thread was the most engaging, but sadly I cannot recommend this.
Kimba of Caffeinated Book Reviewer

There were good reviews too, but it was overpowered by the bad ones. See? Even my friend Kimba can’t recommend it. Sigh. Anyway, as I’ve said, I’ll really try my best to read this. Who knows? I might like it at least. Let’s see what happens. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“I should know this room. I’ve been inside countless times. But everything looks different now. The vibrant colors have all turned gray, the view out the windows is a foreign blur and someone must have rearranged the furniture without telling me.”

Oh. I wonder what’s up with that. I would also get upset if someone rearranged my room without telling me. I would probably have a hard time looking for stuff. The beginning of the book seems mysterious with the colors turned gray and the view a foreign blur. Hmm..

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

Nyze

14 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

  1. I am curious about the beginning and I would read on. When I read reviews that are all over the place, especially negative, it makes me more curious. I hope you enjoy the read and would love to hear what you think when you are finished. Have a great weekend, Nyze. 🙂
    sherry @ fundinmentalFriday Memes

    • It makes me curious, but worried at the same time. I have a lot of books to read and I’m afraid to waste time on a read that would only disappoint me. Have a great week too babe ♥

  2. I hate it when you’re really excited about a book but then the feedback comes in and everyone else just seems to dislike it! The cover is really stunning and the blurb sounds really interesting so I hope you enjoy it when you do get into it! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have an amazing weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

