Book Review: Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Name: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3)
Author:
Leigh Bardugo
Number of Pages:
417 pages in Hardcover
Published:
June 4th 2013
by Henry Holt and Co.
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal

Goodreads

The capital has fallen.
The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne. Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army. Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives. Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

Line

ThoughtsThis review is long overdue. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you would know why. 🙂 Anyway, I must admit I had struggled to finish the series. The first book was amazing, I may say. But I didn’t rate it a five because I felt that the book has potential to be more entertaining. I’ve got issues, but so minor I can’t rant about them. It fascinated me to the point of me fangirling. Then, there goes Siege and Storm which bored the hell out of me. I mean, come on, series should develop more after book one. Apparently book two dragged. It was Shadow and Bone (with a little more dullness or okay, a lot) all over again minus the exciting parts. As I’ve mentioned, only Nikolai got me to continue reading it. You must have met him by now. So I decided reading the third and final book..

The writing is still brilliant, I’ll give it to Leigh, but the plot. The plot got me asking why. The story begun where Alina was held “prisoner” by the Apparat which was so vague. Seriously? By some priest with soldiers? Who can imprison the awesome Sun Summoner and not to mention the rest of her crew? I was not convinced. So she can’t wield her powers because they’re underground and her previous fight with the Darkling got her drained somehow? Are you kidding me? Is she some device that’s solar powered? Come on. You have to do better than that. But of course, I didn’t need to dwell much on that because they’ve escaped him. Like I expected. Again. I also find the Soldat Sol sooo creepy and Alina acting their glorious Saint just to control them? Sigh. Okay. The (boring) journey continued. Same (boring) journey to locate the third amplifier mainly because Alina got so hungry for its power, feeling incomplete without it. Please. Don’t give me the “It will defeat the Darkling so we need it.” crap. Wait, the amplifier is not an electronic device. FYI. Lol! After that, it got worse I had to ask myself if I still want to continue reading it. Apparently, I did. Sigh. I was like..

They’ve escaped the Apparat, hid with Nikolai, then found by the Darkling and escaped. Again. Well, they’re still playing hide-and-seek with the Darkling so I just played skim-and-be-done-with-it. The romance part was also annoying because of three guys who wanted Alina for three different reasons. I hate love triangles and what will I have to say about love squares? Is that even possible? Obviously yes and that’s extremely frustrating! Sigh. What happened to Nikolai didn’t move me. The twist regarding the third amplifier disappointed me. The final battle had me skimming pages after pages until I reached the After chapter at the end which was what I liked somehow. After all those dreary parts, I was expecting something epic for the final battle since that’s what I’ve waited for, but it was anti-climatic and not what I like the battle would be. I’ve expected too much, I guess.

The idea of Alina took pity on the Darkling because somehow he’s just alone and sad (whatever) after he killed almost all of her loved ones is just so absurd. It looks like she’s still in love with him after everything. Pathetic. I just didn’t understand why. Why can’t they just kill him and toss him out in the ocean? Why go through all this drama? Sigh. I am so disappointed. I don’t want to talk about the characters for I’m afraid this would be a rant fest so no. I think I’ve said enough for you guys to understand what a disappointment this book has been for me.

RecommendationA lot has loved the series I know, but I got tired. It was so boring. I’ve expected a lot, but it’s all humdrum after the first book. If you haven’t read the series,
I suggest you save up all the patience that you could.

RatingThis is really a two. Enough said.

Stars

Book Review: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)

Book Review: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2)

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

