Book Review: Invaded (Alienated #2) by Melissa Landers

Name: Invaded (Alienated #2)
Author:
Melissa Landers
Number of Pages:
368 in Hardcover
Published:
February 3rd 2015
by Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult,
Science Fiction, Romance

Goodreads

The romantic sequel to Alienated takes long-distance relationships to a new level as Cara and Aelyx long for each other from opposite ends of the universe…until a threat to both their worlds reunites them.
Cara always knew life on planet L’eihr would be an adjustment. With Aelyx, her L’eihr boyfriend, back on Earth, working to mend the broken alliance between their two planets, Cara is left to fend for herself at a new school, surrounded by hostile alien clones. Even the weird dorm pet hates her.
Things look up when Cara is appointed as human representative to a panel preparing for a human colony on L’eihr. A society melding their two cultures is a place where Cara and Aelyx could one day make a life together. But with L’eihr leaders balking at granting even the most basic freedoms, Cara begins to wonder if she could ever be happy on this planet, even with Aelyx by her side. Meanwhile, on Earth, Aelyx, finds himself thrown into a full-scale PR campaign to improve human-L’eihr relations. Humans don’t know that their very survival depends on this alliance: only Aelyx’s people have the technology to fix the deadly contamination in the global water supply that human governments are hiding. Yet despite their upper hand, the leaders of his world suddenly seem desperate to get humans on their side, and hardly bat an eye at extremists’ multiple attempts on Aelyx’s life. The Way clearly needs humans’ help . . . but with what? And what will they ask for in return?”

Line
ThoughtsI remember loving the first book, Alienated, ’cause it’s not a complicated read and I also said it was kind of cute. On that note, I’ve sworn I’ll read the sequel for I want to read more about the characters. Melissa published a free short story in December, Until Midnight, which was actually a nice read too and it made me more excited to read Invaded. So there. Finally, I got to read Invaded and I was blown away. Like seriously. There were a lot of things that I didn’t expect.

The writing is quite good. It was engaging and easy to follow. It pretty much held my attention from the first page up to the last. The plot has a lot going on and I was kind of surprised and thrilled at the same time. I loved how everything was carried on. Since Aelyx and Cara are separated a lot in this book, I’m a little worried they would drift apart. But that was just at first. All the things that happened when they’re separated, I think, were needed for both of them to grow and trust each other more. It was like reading about a long distance relationship along with saving the world. Pretty cool right? 🙂 While Aelyx was trying to mend the alliance for the greater good, of course you can’t expect everyone to really like the idea of having aliens on earth. Would you in case? Well. I do understand that people would be afraid, but come on, those aliens are good looking. I would be skeptical if they would look like those big head and green-skinned aliens in the movies, but they’re not. Lol! Just kidding. Going back, so people were trying to kill Aelyx and Cara, on the other hand, was also being threatened in L’eihr for the same reason. It seems like everybody was quite dubious about the alliance. Only a few really understands what’s at stake. I enjoyed reading about Cara’s life on L’eihr though it was really a lot like high school where there are bullies and looney teachers. It was just a little extreme since still they’re aliens out there. Their way of things is kind of weird and interesting too.

The book was also fast-paced. A lot was going on in both worlds so I can say that there’s never a dull moment. The twist broke my heart. Actually I’ve experienced a lot of emotions while reading this. Everything seems to be uncertain. Especially when they’re not really sure who were plotting those awful things to them. I somehow expected who that character was, but I was so surprised it turned out to be the last person I’ve suspected. Of course, Jaxen is given, but aside from him there’s this cool guy. Sigh. And what happened to him really broke my heart. That was a tear-jerker. The truth about Jaxen and Aisly were one more thing that I didn’t expect. Yeah, I get that they’re the weirdest of the weird, but the thing about where they came from or where they originated was a blow.

Though Aelyx and Cara are separated, Invaded gave way to new characters and relationships. Syrine and David were so cute. I really love reading about them. It was short, sweet and tragic. Tragic? Yes. You need to read it ’cause that would be a whopping spoiler. Cara’s character development is written pretty well. She has doubts, got jealous (it’s normal having a hot boyfriend), she’s bold and really strong-willed. She had sacrificed being separated with Aelyx and her family for the good cause. Selfless right? I loved her and I also loved her brother, Troy. He really loves Cara and he was so sweet for extending his stay just to be with her. Though he’s not the showy type, I think that only shows how much he loves her. Considering he’s an ass most of the time. Lol! 😀

RecommendationI really enjoyed reading this and learning more about the characters so I pretty much recommend the book for readers who would want an unpredictable and fast-paced read.
I must admit that I didn’t really like how the latter part was somehow too quick.
Like everything happened in a blink, but I still enjoyed it.

Rating4 Stars

Alienated (Alienated #1)

Until Midnight (Alienated #1.5)

Nyze

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Invaded (Alienated #2) by Melissa Landers

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Invaded (Alienated #2) by Melissa Landers - Todd DeanTodd Dean

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

