Currently Reading│Book Beginning : When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling

Currently Reading #48

Name: When My Heart Was Wicked
Author: Tricia Stirling
Number of Pages: 192 in Kindle
Published: February 24th 2015
by Scholastic Press
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Goodreads

I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins. But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good. 16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind. Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter’s heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the “old” Lacy starts to resurface. But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

Line

Featured this on a Waiting on Wednesday post since I’m so certain that though the book is kind of short (no. it is short), it will be a nice read. I want to have a quick read once in a while. Especially if I’ve just read a totally long and tiring series. Not to mention, boring. This kind of books somehow refreshes my enthusiasm to read my long list of unread ones. Confession of a book hoarder. 😀 Here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads.

So this book was amazing! It was short, but every word mattered. It was beautifully written, the description of the characters was poignant and had a self-awareness that is generally lacking in books. This was full of magical realism, and I love books like this, it’s not a genre that I normally love but this was a stand out novel. Tricia Stirling created a rich, magical world that overlaps the real world that we live in, and it was absolutely breathtaking. I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars, and the more I think on it, the better it gets. I would highly recommend this for both adults and teens who love paranormal and fantasy!
Kasey of Moonlight Gleam Reviews

I didn’t fall in love with the story or the characters, but I did find this book to be interesting and unique. I was interested in finding out what would happen in the end. This story is different from books that I usually read. If you enjoy reading books where the main character struggles with their own identity, then you may enough reading this story. The magical elements are fascinating.  I enjoyed reading this book, but not one that I will find myself reading again.
Stephanie of My Bookish Itinerary

I honestly don’t even know what to say. There is so much … stuff … going on in this book and yet simultaneously nothing really happens. The ideas in the book don’t mesh well together, and it’s very disjointed. None of the characters are believable; they are caricatures. Just say no to this book. Please.
Pamela of Pamelibrarian

From the reviews I’ve read, I’m pretty sure I would enjoy it and I’m currently in Chapter Three. To be honest, it’s definitely intriguing. I’m wishing that the book is not too short that I would want more. Let’s see what happens. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“My stepmother, Anna, swears magic exists in everyday.
I used to think she was full of it, but then one morning at Big Chico Creek
we found a mermaid’s eye under a patch of bird’s foot trefoil.”

I know it’s not Friday anymore. I somehow overlooked that I haven’t scheduled this post so yeah, I’m posting it now. Who cares? I love this meme. 😀 Anyway, after reading the book’s beginning I was intrigued right away and wanting to read more. I believe magic exists too. Duh. I’m from Diagon Alley and my money is guarded by goblins in Gringotts. Lol! 😀

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us!

Nyze

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

