Book Review: When My Heart Was Wicked

Name: When My Heart Was Wicked
Author: Tricia Stirling
Number of Pages: 192 in Kindle
Published: February 24th 2015
by Scholastic Press
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Goodreads

I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins. But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good. 16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind. Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter’s heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the “old” Lacy starts to resurface. But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

Line

ThoughtsWhen I first saw this, I’ve thought right away that this would be magical in a way. Like witches, but more twisted. I also loved the book cover. It’s not something vanilla and yeah, it’s gorgeous. I like how it’s mysterious. I’m not sure what to expect aside from the fact that this would have magic and mystery. The book was quite short. With that, I’ve only expected that it would not run into circles and I will enjoy every page. Unfortunately, the book turned out to be something I’m really not prepared of.

I must admit I was drawn by the author’s writing. It was puzzling enough for me to turn pages after pages. Looking for answers to the questions I have in my head. Wondering if this book really incorporated the magic that pulled me in. I was fooled. Utterly fooled. The book was all about a teenage girl who badly needs a psychiatrist. I can’t help, but think that the magic on this is not even real. It’s all in her head and yeah, also in her mother’s looney head. It’s like I was pushed in a room full of lunatics. Gah! The entire book was so disturbing. Disturbing that I cringe every so often.

Lacy is just a troubled teen dealing with all the awful things that happened in her past that’s all coming back to her. She grew up with parents who fight most of the time then, eventually got divorced. Her mother got custody and just neglected her. Cheyenne was physically abusing her like burned her wrist with a cigarette and leaving her with no food for days. Until the day has come that she didn’t bother to return anymore. Why would such mothers even exist? Lacy was left alone until her father took her in and let her live with him and her stepmom, Anna. Anna on the other hand, was all sunshine and cute little bunnies. She cared for Lacy and even loved her like her own. Things were going smoothly until her father died and Cheyenne wants her back. Of course, there’s nothing Anna could do, but to give her back to her Mom. That’s where Lacy decided to be a full-blown psycho. They’re delusional. Lacy’s like schizophrenic. She can’t decide whether to be good or bad or perhaps she’s just in a pace of her life that got her confused to have identity crisis. I pity her so much and I also felt that she’s just using her mother’s craziness as an excuse to do stupid things. To have someone to blame for her own decisions. The book incorporated a lot of awful things like drugs, stealing, sexual abuse, self-harm (Lacy cutting herself and feeling so great about it) and bullying. I’m like.. What The Fudge? This should probably fall under the Contemporary genre and not in Fantasy. Like what I’ve said, I really think that the magic is not real. They’ve just made it in their nutty little heads.

I don’t want to talk about the characters ’cause honestly I didn’t want to write this review either. I’m sorry. I felt so emotionally stressed out after finishing this. The book ended with no resolution at all. It didn’t work for me. Big time. I’m not so certain if the book really suck or it was just not what I’m expecting it to be so no. No. No. No. Sigh. This is madness.

RecommendationI can recommend this if you want some dark and disturbing read, but for fantasy readers?
Don’t even touch this. Well it’s still up to you. At least, you’ve been warned.

RatingHere’s a two for the gorgeous book cover.

StarsNyze

4 thoughts on “Book Review: When My Heart Was Wicked

  1. ooooh boooooy. THAT IS A BUMMER. Beautiful cover to waste 😦 But, seriously, I was about to add it on Goodreads just because of the cover but I don’t think I can’t take the delusionar feeling the characters give. Great review though!!

    • To be honest, I was lured by the cover. I was not expecting the book to turn out like that. I’m kind of disappointed. Thanks for taking the time to read 🙂

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

