Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon

Currently Reading #51

Name: Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon
Author:
S.A. Mulraney
Number of Pages:
278 pages in EBook
Published:
September 1st 2014 by Scott Mulraney
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Goodreads

Danny Dirks wants nothing more than to play baseball in his father’s orchard now that school is out, but he’s finding out that he is no ordinary boy. With the approach of his fifteenth birthday, Danny’s begun hearing voices and seeing visions of his dead mother. He’s also fairly certain that the cute girl next door is really a shape-shifting dragon. All of these things lead Danny to the discovery that he is the heir of the legendary Arthur Pendragon and the linchpin in a pact established between man and dragon centuries ago. Now, rogue dragons threaten that pact and the peace that comes with it. They aim to reopen the portal through which they originally came to Earth in order to bring back a rebel dragon army. It’s up to Danny to learn to channel the power that is Excalibur and, with his new friends, prevent the portal from being opened.

Line

This is my April’s feature for the meme Random Read and also in my NetGalley’s list of unread books. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you probably know that I have a long list of books that I needed to finish and I’m starting off with my NetGalley TBR. Anyway, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads. 😀

I could do a list with all the things that I liked of this book but it’d be too long because I loved EVERYTHING of this novel! The characters are really great and the story is page-turned so I could barely take my eyes off the book. The story is original and I couldn’t predict what would happen next… Every page was a total surprise!
Lou from Goodreads

It was actually pretty well-thought when it came to the plot. It explained most of the things a reader needed to know in order to get sucked in the story, had many funny and witty lines in dialogue, and tons of magic and fights. It also balanced the suspense factor quite well to keep the pages turning. No, the real problem lies with the pace. It took like forever to finally get to the part where Danny was taking action, and then, it was like Mr. Mulraney got a stroke and left his foot on the gas, accelerating towards the finish line with dizzying speed – and I’m not talking about the roller coaster dizziness, I’m talking about that feeling you get when you’re in a car that races like the devil himself is after it.
Lydia of Cupcakes and Popcorn

Yes, I’m rating this one too. Bite me if you don’t like it. I’ve read enough to know this is a bad book. The kid is 15 and talks like he is 8. Then everyone in the book keeps telling him that something is about to happen. IT DOES NOT!!!! I can’t take anymore. The writing is pretty bad, but I’m being nice and not tearing into it…I’m farting rainbows and spreading cheer.
Shelby of Flying Monkey Reads

I’ve had a hard time looking for reviews for this book and I’m clueless. I even tried searching on Google, but didn’t find a lot so those were the only reviews I’ve got. Anyway, I’m looking forward to liking the book. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“”C’mon, Danny. Thursday morning! Last day of school.
Your Dad doesn’t want you to miss it. Up and at ’em!”
Nancy called from the doorway. The part-time
housekeeper rapped her knuckles on the door.”

I feel for him. Being so lazy on every last day of my work week, well it’s school for him. Don’t judge me. My work requires a lot of patience and by the end of the week.. I’m drained. Lol! What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us!

Nyze

12 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

