Book Review: Coral and Bone

Name: Coral & Bone
Author: Tiffany Daune
Number of Pages: 290 pages in Paperback
Published: Published July 1st 2014
by Jester Ink Press
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Goodreads

Halen knows the sparks igniting under her fingertips are dangerous. She has spent her entire life trying to quell the tingly feelings that make her destroy things, but now that she is back in Rockaway Beach, where she watched her father drown, the flames have become impossible to tame. Halen is trying to hold on, but when she is thrust into a mysterious new world, the underwater realm of Elosia, she unravels the secrets of her past and can’t help but ignite. As she explores Elosia, she realizes her life has been a lie. And when those who have deceived her come to her for help, Halen must choose —walk away or unleash the magic that could destroy them all.

Line

ThoughtsThis review is long overdue. I haven’t been reading this past two weeks and this review didn’t help. I’m trying to finish all my books on NetGalley and decided to start with this. The book cover really drew me in. Nobody could argue with me about the cover being truly lovely and it hurt me to say that it ends there. The idea of mermaids and magic always capture my attention and to be honest, I haven’t seen at least a good mermaid book after The Syrena Legacy by Anna Banks. Sigh.

It really disappointed me that the writing dragged. I’ve reached Chapter 18  and so and still, nothing exciting is happening. I kept reading to give the book a chance, but it only got worse. The main character was as confused as I am. I connected with her on that part alone. The world building though presented briefly was quite interesting. I’m talking about Elosia. I would love to read more about it, but it was not further explored. The plot seemed like a lot was going on. It started with Halen thinking she’s a freak for having powers not known to her. She was forced to discover everything about her life. All along everything was a lie to cover up whom she really was. Everybody lied so she had a hard time trusting anyone. From there onwards, I got more confused and didn’t really care at all. There were shape-shifters, hunters, regular sirens, special sirens, guardians, half-breeds, and so on. I’ve read further. Thinking perhaps the climax and how it will end will compensate for the chapters that seemed unimportant. The book picked up at Chapter 32. Sigh. Where another lie was revealed. Apparently, Halen needs to open a portal to release an evil siren and destroy him. She needs a guardian to do that. That’s basically the gist, but since everybody has been lying or keeping things from her, it got complicated and confusing. The climax didn’t make up for the book. For me, it’s a bit rushed. Not what I’m expecting to be a bad ass confrontation with the evil siren. I also wonder if he’s really an evil siren given what he experienced before to do what they thought he was doing. I’m not really certain who the real villains are. Vague. Though I think, the book is a stand-alone, how it ended somehow hinted that there might be a sequel so I’m left wanting to read more because the book only got interesting on the last couple of chapters. There’s just a lot of pages that seemed so pointless.

The characters. Hmm. I really didn’t connect with any of them. I think they’re not presented well for readers to love them. I’ve read books whose characters stayed with me for a week and some I still think of even if it has been months since I’ve read the book, but this.. Totally forgettable. I even forgot who the other characters were. Sigh. I can’t say the characters here were not lovable. I actually liked Ezra ’cause he’s funny. That’s it. I had a hard time keeping up with the rest of them.

RecommendationThe book has a lot of potential. If only the book focused more on world building, less confusing plot and character development, it could have been better. You guys can still try to read it though.
Perhaps I’m just being a fusspot.

RatingTwo for the amazing cover.

Stars

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

