Book Review: Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon

Name: Danny Dirks and the Heir of Pendragon
Author:
S.A. Mulraney
Number of Pages:
278 pages in EBook
Published:
September 1st 2014 by Scott Mulraney
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Goodreads

Danny Dirks wants nothing more than to play baseball in his father’s orchard now that school is out, but he’s finding out that he is no ordinary boy. With the approach of his fifteenth birthday, Danny’s begun hearing voices and seeing visions of his dead mother. He’s also fairly certain that the cute girl next door is really a shape-shifting dragon. All of these things lead Danny to the discovery that he is the heir of the legendary Arthur Pendragon and the linchpin in a pact established between man and dragon centuries ago. Now, rogue dragons threaten that pact and the peace that comes with it. They aim to reopen the portal through which they originally came to Earth in order to bring back a rebel dragon army. It’s up to Danny to learn to channel the power that is Excalibur and, with his new friends, prevent the portal from being opened.

Line

ThoughtsThis is my feature for the month of April for Random Reads. Still in line with my Clear Books from your NetGalley TBR goal. If you’re wondering if that’s a challenge that you could join, well I just made it up, but you can also do it if you want. 😉 Anyway, I’ve chosen to request this book from NetGalley because dragons have amused me ever since. I’m not quite sure about this book though.

The writing actually crawled. To be honest, I could just stop reading it when I can, but I’m so curious where the dragons came from and how the author would present them so I continued. The book lacks the energy I’m looking for. Like nothing significant is happening all throughout. The world building was also vanilla. It didn’t really give me something to talk about for this review. Sigh. Anyway, I’ll try. Okay so Danny is related to King Arthur. Yes. That King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. Apparently, he needs to stop those bad dragons in opening a portal and invading Earth. That’s the gist. I think the story would be awesome if there were less unimportant things like the forced romance part and the bickering among characters. More on the action and world building part. I’m not saying that I didn’t like the book at all. I liked it, but it wasn’t just great. I’m expecting something action-packed. But of course, they’re dragons. You can’t expect a dragon to be sipping lemonade, sunbathing on a beach right? There were parts that I truly liked though. To be fair. Since the book was not entirely crappy. The book ended on a tragic note and with a potential sequel. That part saddened me. I meant the tragic one. Anyway I can’t say that I’m going to wait for the potential sequel of the book, but I might consider. That’s if the sequel would be more promising.

The characters were likable, but there’s nothing really interesting about them since they’re pretty common. Danny’s just your usual boy who loves to play baseball with friends who ended up to be the one who will save the world. His father and Grandfather were your usual folks who would argue at anything. The rest of the characters were pretty standard too. Nothing really remarkable.

RecommendationWell it’s readable, but as I’ve said.. I felt like it was one of those ordinary fantasy books with a usual boy who’s destined for greatness with people who’s there for him to help. See? Nothing out of the ordinary so it’s still up to you if you want to read it. You might like it though.

Rating3.5 Stars

Nyze

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

