Book Beginning #2: Winterspell

Book Beginnings on FridaysBook Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

WinterspellName: Winterspell
Author:
Claire LeGrand
Number of Pages:
464 in Hardcover
Published:
September 30th 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Retellings, Historical Fiction, Paranormal

Goodreads

“Our stories say that when the human world was first made, not all of it fit. Pieces fell off the whole, like too much dough being stuffed into a small pan, and those bits dropped into cracks and were forgotten.
Our stories, the oldest ones, the ones most people no longer remember, say that my country,
Cane, is one of those forgotten places, hidden away in some cosmic pocket of existence, for the most part separated from the human world, but not entirely.”

Line

So I’m back with Winterspell. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you would know that I set this aside for The Blood of Olympus and here I am, picking up where I left off. I initially thought about faeries and other creature not really human when I first read this. A world that somehow there, but a few could only reach. Wonderland for instance or Atlantica perhaps. Did you think about that too after reading it? 🙂

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have an idea what The Nutcracker is all about and this book is inspired by that fairytale so I’m practically learning while going through the book. I have heard a lot of good things about Winterspell and I’m really looking forward to enjoying it too.

Here’s the blurb:

“The clock chimes midnight, a curse breaks, and a girl meets a prince . . . but what follows is not all sweetness and sugarplums.
New York City, 1899. Clara Stole, the mayor’s ever-proper daughter, leads a double life. Since her mother’s murder, she has secretly trained in self-defense with the mysterious Drosselmeyer.
Then, on Christmas Eve, disaster strikes.
Her home is destroyed, her father abducted–by beings distinctly not human. To find him, Clara journeys to the war-ravaged land of Cane. Her only companion is the dethroned prince Nicholas, bound by a wicked curse. If they’re to survive, Clara has no choice but to trust him, but his haunted eyes burn with secrets–and a need she can’t define. With the dangerous, seductive faery queen Anise hunting them, Clara soon realizes she won’t leave Cane unscathed–if she leaves at all.
Inspired by The Nutcracker, Winterspell is a dark, timeless fairy tale about love and war, longing and loneliness, and a girl who must learn to live without fear.”

You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

nyze

23 thoughts on “Book Beginning #2: Winterspell

    • Its too early for me to say something about Winterspell. Im just half way through it. Im really trying to read as fast as I can though. LOL! Yeah. I just posted the review for BoO. Hope you like it 🙂

    • It is indeed enchanting. Its too early for me to say anything about the book though. I’ll save it for my review. Good luck with all the books you need to finish. Have a wonderful weekend too 🙂

  1. I loved it! I thought that it was very loosely inspired by The Nutcracker (very loosely!!). So really not missing much there. Enjoy!!

  2. I’m only vaguely familiar with The Nutcracker too. This story sounds really amazing. I’ll be eager to hear what you think about it when you finish it. Happy reading!

Penny for your thoughts? Ü