Book Beginning #3: The Iron Trial

Book Beginnings on FridaysBook Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Currently Reading #25

Name: The Iron Trial
Author:
Holly Black and Cassandra Claire
Number of Pages:
304 in Hardcover
Published:
September 9th 2014 by Scholastic Press
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Adventure, Supernatural

Goodreads

“From a distance, the man struggling up the white face of the glacier might have looked like an ant crawling slowly up the side of a dinner plate.
The shantytown of La Rinconada was a collection of scattered specks far below him, the wind increasing as his elevation did, blowing powdery gusts of snow into his face and freezing the damp tendrils of his black hair. Despite his amber goggles, he winced at the brightness of the reflected sunset.”

Line

Technically this is a post for Book Beginnings on Friday and also a post from my own Currently Reading Meme. I’ve just fused the two. Honestly, I’ve skipped a post for my Currently Reading so if you’ll check for posts on this meme, you’ll probably end up confused since the last time I’ve posted is #23. I forgot to post #24 which was The Strange & Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. I’ll just update that page.

Anywaaaayyyyyy, initial thoughts about the first sentence(s)? Hmm.. I suddenly felt acrophobic. He’s trying to climb Mount Everest, I guess. LOL! I mean, what is he doing there? That really intrigue me. I’ve waited for this for ages and I’m so excited that I’m finally reading it. Knowing this is something from Clare, added thrill on the excitement that I’m already feeling. I’ve read a lot of reviews and I want to share some with you guys. Here’s a good one first:

The Iron Trial is an excellent book. It is fun and sweet and heartbreaking. There is magic. There is friendship. There is danger. This book was just all kinds of amazing. And I’m so glad that I read it. ❤ Though yeah. Too long until the next book is out 😀 I just cannot wait to read more. I just know that this series will get a big place in my heart. ❤ Because yeah. Callum is the most awesome hero. Also. The ending. I didn’t peek 😀 And I was surprised. And a bit confused. But it was also all kinds of awesome.
Carina of Carina’s Books

Let’s have a not so good review too:

The events are predictable or just darn boring. And, to be honest, I was just not convinced. Not convinced by the characters, the friendship, the dialogs, the TWIST. I don’t even see how this series might get interesting with its sequels. It just lacked or contained too many, as I said, similarities to the HP series. So, I would certainly recommend you stay away from this, in my opinion, awful read that will only anger you (if you’re an HP fan) or steal your precious time. That was harsh, I know, but it doesn’t change that I felt–and still feel–what I said in this review.
Lola of Hit or Miss Books

Oooh. Interesting points. What do you think? It’s always nice to know two sides of the story right? It’s too early for me to tell since I’ve only read a quarter of the book so far. Book review to follow. For now, happy reading to me! 😀

Here’s the blurb:

“Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.
Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.
All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.
So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.
Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.
The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . ”

You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

nyze

17 thoughts on “Book Beginning #3: The Iron Trial

Penny for your thoughts? Ü