Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory

Currently Reading #49

Name: Harrison Squared
Author: Daryl Gregory
Number of Pages: 320 pages in Hardcover
Published: March 24th 2015 by Tor Books
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Horror

Goodreads

From award winning author Daryl Gregory comes a thrilling and colorful Lovecraftian adventure of a teenage boy searching for his mother, and the macabre creatures he encounters. Harrison Harrison—H2 to his mom—is a lonely teenager who’s been terrified of the water ever since he was a toddler in California, when a huge sea creature capsized their boat, and his father vanished. One of the “sensitives” who are attuned to the supernatural world, Harrison and his mother have just moved to the worst possible place for a boy like him: Dunnsmouth, a Lovecraftian town perched on rocks above the Atlantic, where strange things go on by night, monsters lurk under the waves, and creepy teachers run the local high school. On Harrison’s first day at school, his mother, a marine biologist, disappears at sea. Harrison must attempt to solve the mystery of her accident, which puts him in conflict with a strange church, a knife­wielding killer, and the Deep Ones, fish­-human hybrids that live in the bay. It will take all his resources—and an unusual host of allies—to defeat the danger and find his mother.

Line

This was given to me for review of Leah from Macmillan-Tor/Forge and I’m so excited since this is something new for me. I was so intrigued by the blurb and I’ve decided right away to accept the review. I’ve heard so many good things about Daryl Gregory though I haven’t read a single book of his, to be honest. I’m looking forward to enjoying this book and I hope it will turn out amazing. 😀 Here’s a five star and a three star review respectively. There were no one star reviews so I guess that’s a good thing right? By the way, got them from book lovers on Goodreads.

This book had me snorting with laughter in places – Harrison is a witty, ironically drawn character who is also forced to grow up fast – he is determined and often fragile, but so very likeable and engaging that he anchors the whole story giving it a highly addictive quality. Add to that a really beautifully drawn fantasy world – urban fantasy really, where underneath the norm are many layers to be discovered. Cue a whole load of creepy and eerie shenanigans, a developing friendship, Harrison facing his fears head on and generally a stonking good yarn that will have you reading into the early hours of the morning. In a way it is very old school – bringing to mind the monster movies of my youth with a Hitchock flavour that I loved, beautifully written and ingenious throughout. And yes, very Lovecraft. Wonderful!
Liz of Liz Loves Books

Harrison Squared is a very well written and entertaining story, if I was to categorize it, I’d say a YA urban fantasy and there lies my only issue with this story. It was like a toned down prelude to the author’s first story set in this world, We are all Completely Fine and that was a bit of a shame. Almost like an episode of the A-team but with school kids, loads going on, lots of action, explosions aplenty but no-one ever dies, they do of course but you get my drift. No-one swears, I never felt uneasy and the darkness alluded to was barely touched.
Paul of Paul Read or Dead

From the reviews I’ve read, I’m pretty sure this would be so interesting. Can’t wait to finish it. Let’s see what happens. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“What I remember are tentacles. Tentacles and teeth.
I know those memories aren’t real. I was only three when my father died,
too young to understand what was happening.”

Oooh. What a spooky way to start a book. Definitely intriguing. I hope this book won’t be spooky as it looks so I won’t have nightmares. Lol! 😀 Blame it to my infinite imagination.

Hey! I also want to share the Harrison Squared Tie-In Choose Your Own Adventure game! This game does not require one to have read Harrison Squared previously, but definitely will pull you into the spooky world Daryl Gregory has created. That’s as per Leah and I did enjoy it. You should try it too. If you want a copy of this book, it’s already available for request on NetGalley. Request now »

What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us!

Nyze

15 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory

  1. Pingback: The sunday post #15 | The e-reader junkie

Penny for your thoughts? Ü