Currently Reading│Book Beginning : The Younger Gods by Michael R. Underwood

Currently Reading #52

Name: The Younger Gods (Younger Gods #1)
Author:
Michael R. Underwood
Number of Pages:
280 pages in Nook
Published:
October 13th 2014 by Pocket Star
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Goodreads

The first in a new series from the author of Geekomancy (pop culture urban fantasy) and Shield and Crocus (New Weird superhero fantasy).
Jacob Greene was a sweet boy raised by a loving, tight-knit family…of cultists. He always obeyed, and was so trusted by them that he was the one they sent out on their monthly supply run (food, medicine, pig fetuses, etc.). Finding himself betrayed by them, he flees the family’s sequestered compound and enters the true unknown: college in New York City. It’s a very foreign place, the normal world and St. Mark’s University. But Jacob’s looking for a purpose in life, a way to understand people, and a future that breaks from his less-than-perfect past. However, when his estranged sister arrives in town to kick off the apocalypse, Jacob realizes that if he doesn’t gather allies and stop the family’s prophecy of destruction from coming true, nobody else will…

Line

Still clearing out my NetGalley TBR. Glad I’m able to keep up with this goal though I have a lot of books that were recently released calling on to me. Lol! This looks interesting and quite an adventure. I’m so excited to read it. Hope it will turn out good. Anyway, here’s a five star, three star and one star review respectively. Got them from book lovers on Goodreads. 😀

The Younger Gods is a great book. It blends the urban fantasy genre with HP Lovecraftian vibes. A quick read, The Younger Gods sticks true to the urban fantasy genre. New York City plays an important part in this story, not just as a setting but as a character. Underwood really understands the importance of place in a story and the characters move in and around the city like dancers in an intricate play. Jacob’s archaic voice lends to his awkwardness in a fun and playful way. The baddies in this book, bear names similar to those in HP Lovecraftian stories.
Jaymi of Shades of Maybe

I enjoyed this book, but I loved the ending. I won’t give anything away here, but suffice to say that Underwood turns the entire book on its head in such a way that makes absolutely perfect sense. There’s certainly enough about this book to make me interested in the next one in the series, but a few issues to be addressed.
Sean of Sean Blogs Now

I am finding this book hard to get into. I’m at 32% and thinking of giving up on it. The first chapters has promise but now its lost. I’m losing interest fast. I gave up at 49%, the writing style and story line just weren’t for me. I have no interest to see how the book finishes. The characters had no chemistry or depth, dialogue was poor and uninteresting. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters.
Karla of Eireflo

There were awesome reviews about the book and it made me more excited to read it. I’m loving Lovecraftian kind of books when I’ve read Harrison Squared so looking forward to enjoying this one too. Happy reading to me for now! Book review to follow. 😀

Line

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Here’s the book’s beginning:

“I expected many things after I left my family: the loneliness of being separated from my roots, serious financial hardship, and drastically fewer blood sacrifices with dinner.
But I did not expect the discouraging reality of having to count on strangers.”

Oh! That’s an intense way of starting a book. I have been living away from my parents for seven years now and I must admit I’ve experienced those. I’m talking about serious financial hardship and counting on strangers. Not really on blood sacrifices though. What’s that suppose to mean anyway? Lol! What do you think of the book’s beginning? You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us!

Nyze

13 thoughts on “Currently Reading│Book Beginning : The Younger Gods by Michael R. Underwood

  1. Great book beginning! It’s really unusual (blood sacrifices?!) but also quite realistic, it makes you want to read more from the first line!

  2. I know what you, and the author, mean by relying on strangers. I think no matter where you are in life you need to learn to rely on others.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

Penny for your thoughts? Ü