Book Beginning #5: The Beautiful Ashes

Book Beginnings on FridaysBook Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by Rose City Reader, where we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

Name: The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny #1)
Author:
Jeaniene Frost
Number of Pages:
384 pages in eBook
Published:
August 26th, 2014 by Harlequin
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Historical Fiction, Romance

Goodreads

In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate.
Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just beyond her own. But when her sister goes missing, Ivy discovers the truth is far worse—her hallucinations are real, and her sister is trapped in a parallel realm. And the one person who believes her is the dangerously attractive guy who’s bound by an ancient legacy to betray her.
Adrian might have turned his back on those who raised him, but that doesn’t mean he can change his fate…no matter how strong a pull he feels toward Ivy. Together they search for the powerful relic that can save her sister, but Adrian knows what Ivy doesn’t: that every step brings Ivy closer to the truth about her own destiny, and a war that could doom the world. Sooner or later, it will be Ivy on one side and Adrian on the other. And nothing but ashes in between…

Line

This is a feature from my November Random Reads and honestly, I haven’t started reading it since I’m still taking my time absorbing Stone Cold Touch (An excuse for not having the needed reading time. Fail). The very reason I’m featuring this today is because I’m really thinking of reading it alongside my current read. Not advisable, I know. I’ve already peeked on it and I’m so convinced that this is going to be something I would like, though it’s really too early to tell. Don’t you think?

Anyway, here’s the book’s beginning:

I’m twenty, and already, I’ve got nothing left to lose. That’s why I didn’t care that Bennington, Vermont, looked like a postcard for autumn in the country. The two-story bed-and-breakfast I pulled up to was no different. It even had a white picket fence and a steady swirl of sunset-colored leaves drifting down from the many trees in the yard.

I really wonder why on earth she’s saying that there’s already nothing left to lose at twenty. Something terrible could have happened for her to say this. Something life changing and hope wreaking. I’m really intrigued now. I really should start reading this to find out. And, who doesn’t care about a postcard worthy autumn view? I love autumn though I haven’t seen such a scene. I’ve only seen it on TV (Thank you National Geographic Channel 🙂 ), but everything about it is amazing I think. The country I’m currently residing only have two seasons which includes a lot of rain and searing summer heat. Go figure. LOL! 😀

You could share book beginnings on your current read too. Comment the link of your own Book Beginnings on Fridays so I can check it out and have an idea of amazing books that I would want to read. Come on! Join us! 😀

nyze

22 thoughts on “Book Beginning #5: The Beautiful Ashes

    • I think you shouldn’t. It’s in their extremes and so unpredictable like you’re enjoying frying your butt under the sun then a minute later, it would be raining dungeons and dragons. LOL.

Penny for your thoughts? Ü