My Week in a Wrapped #5

SundayPost

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

It has been a busy week since I’m trying my best to juggle everything. Work, reading and a lot of other things. So much to do with so little time. Fortunately, I was able to fit them all. I was able to finished Winterspell, started and finished The Strange & Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender for my October Random Reads and currently reading The Iron Trial. Work’s still a bit tough on schedule and really tiring, but I was able to accomplished a lot in all fairness. I’m so proud of myself. LOL! Anyway, the highlight of my week was that I got a day off from work for my son’s 12th birthday. Since it falls right after his actual birth date, I didn’t have much time to prepare for the celebration. We just had a nice and super fun dinner with the whole family. Here’s a photo of my birthday boy, Heaven Alessandre ♥

Alie's 12th

Isn’t he such a cutie? 😀 He’s growing up pretty fast. Refusing to hold hands with me in public now. Sniff. Next year, he’ll enter a new pace of his life, which is being teen and I’m really hoping that I could turn back those days that he’s still in his diapers. Oh wait! I’m being emotional now. It seems like I’m getting old too. LOL. How’s your week? 😀

Line

Last Week On The Blog

Next Week On The Blog

  • Will check for recent updates for books I want
  • Teaser Tuesday #15: The Iron Trial (If I dont have a new read yet)
  • Waiting on Wednesday #20: I’m still thinking of what to feature
  • Book Review: The Iron Trial (Hopefully!)
  • Currently Reading #26: Crown of Ice by Vicki Weavil 🙂
  • Book Review: Crown of Ice (Hopefully!)
  • Book Beginning #3: Hoping to feature a new read 😀

Currently Reading #25

Name: The Iron Trial
Author:
Holly Black and Cassandra Claire
Number of Pages:
304 in Hardcover
Published:
September 9th 2014 by Scholastic Press
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Adventure, Supernatural

Goodreads

“Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.
Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.
All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.
So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.
Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.
The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . .”

Around the Blogosphere

I want to have this part dedicated to book lovers I’m following 🙂

Newly Owned to Read #7

I’m limiting myself to three new books a week since my unread books are piling up. LOL 😀

Do you have a Sunday Post too? Please leave your links on the comment box. I’ll check them out 😀

LineLinking this up with Stacking the Shelves

nyze

70 thoughts on “My Week in a Wrapped #5

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, and happy birthday to your son! As the mom of a 12-year-old boy, I can only say that 12 ROCKS! True, my son won’t hold hands in public any more, but I still get to cuddle at home, and I’m savoring it while it lasts. 🙂 After all, high school is just around the corner…

  2. You’re son is so adorable and so full of enthusiasm; best of wishes for him 🙂 My oldest will be turning twelve in December too! Is he your oldest? I have four! But goodness me Nyze, I was convinced you were a young teenager! That’s what most women in the Philippians are blessed with; extravagant youth. I have many friends who are Filipinas and I swear they never age! 😀

  3. My nephew is only 4 and already he’s refusing to hold hands with me. So sad! I just want to turn him back to being an adorable toddler who depending on me for everything. hehe. xD Aw, but it’s awesome to see them grow up too!

    Ooh, I’m so excited for the Young Elites and The Iron Trials!!! Hopefully my copy of The Iron Trials is coming in the mail this week. Squee! My Sunday Post!

  4. Happy birthday to your son! Twelve is a great age….my youngest grandson is almost twelve.

    You have some great looking adventure books on your list…or are they Sci-Fi? Hope you love them all. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. For some reason, I don’t think I’ve been getting your blog updates… perhaps I didn’t follow by email. I need to correct that! Congrats on your son’s birthday… momma is getting older! Uh oh! 😉

  6. Oh I remember when my boy stop holding my hand or kissing in public. It was heartbreaking. He is 21 now and will kiss me and hug me in public. Oh and hold my hand in the crook of his arm like I am an old lady. Ha..I will take it. Glad you all had fun and that you found balance in the madness that is life 🙂

    • Thanks babe. We still cuddle at home, but yeah it’s heartbreaking when he tells me he’s already a grown up and he can do things on his own now. Sigh. 🙂

    • Believe me. I’m holding back to hoard these days. Got tons of unread books. I’m enjoying Iron Trial so far, I’m halfway through it, but I’ll post the review as soon as I can 🙂

      Have a great week too ♥

  7. Happy Birthday to your son!! My daughter is 11 and she won’t hold my hand either. But we do cuddle at home lol. I read The Young Elites and I thought it was good. So hopefully you will like it. But I’m jealous you Snow Like Ashes! I want to read that but I am holding back on buying new books since I have so many lol. Have a great week!

    • Thanks for the birthday greeting! ♥

      Do you have a review of the Young Elites that I could read? Perhaps you could give me the link. Believe me. I’m so holding back in buying books since I have tons of unread ones. Have a great week too 🙂

  8. Aw, happy birthday to him! You’ll have to start bribing him to hold your hand in public. lol. Hope you get some more reading time.

  9. Aw, your son is cute! Wow, 12, soon he’ll be getting into the “Mom, stop embarrasing me” phase. 🙂

    Oh my gosh, please tell me you loved The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender? I have been wanting to read that book forever, I’m currently on the hold list at the library so hopefully I’ll get it soon. I’m going to check out your review on it now.

    Limitation! That’s what I need to do. 🙂 Speaking of gorgeous books, I’m so envious you have The Young Elites and Snow Like Ashes. I almost picked up The Young Elites from the library Wednesday, but decided against it because I clearly wasn’t in my right mind at the time and now…they’re all checked out and I’m on the hold list for them. 😦

    Chasing Power has a great cover. It’s on my Goodreads “want to read” list. I hope you enjoy all of your books.

    Thanks for stopping by YA Indulgences. 🙂

    • Oh my! I really dread the “Mom, stop embarrasing me” phase. Hope it won’t be anytime soon. 😀

      Love is an understatement. I want to marry The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. LOL! It’s so beautiful and I hope you’ll love it too.

      I’m looking forward in reading these three books, but I doubt it won’t be sooner cause I have tons lined up to read. Thanks for taking the time to read mine babe ♥

      • I wish you luck then! 🙂 I’m occasionally that way with my mom, at 23 years old. 😀

        I just noticed in your review! That’s so great.

        I know how that is, I can never read a certain book I want to read (I mean, I want to read all the books I read but…), when I want to read it because of previous…decisions. Or library due dates, ha.

        You’re welcome. 🙂

      • I remember the times when I used to be that way with my Mom too. LOL! Glad you like my review. I’m really hoping I could have time to read so I can finish them all. 😀

  10. Happy Birthday to your son 🙂 He’s such a cutie!
    Sounds like you’ve had a busy week, and still managed to get some reading done. Can’t wait to see what you think of Snow Like Ashes. I’m SO tempted to buy that book, but I have such a massive TBR pile already that I keep putting it off. It looks great though.

    • I feel for you. Like wanting to buy more books, but holding back since there’s a huge lot of unread ones. I doubt Ill be reading it sooner though. Got a lot lined up to read. Thanks for the birthday greeting babe ♥

  11. Oh look at that happy birthday kiddo. Looks so happy. 🙂

    And you have several books I’ve got on my want list. Hope you enjoy them all when you get to reading them and have a great week!

  12. happy birthday to your little cutie! They sure do grow too fast – mine is 14 (almost 15) now and just kissed his girlfriend for the first time. Where’d my little guy go, huh?

    You picked three books right off my tbr, so I applaud your choices! I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    • Thanks for the birthday greeting! I dread the day hell introduce a girlfriend. Lol.

      I doubt Ill be reading them anytime soon. I have a lot lined up to read first.

  13. Happy birthday to your baby boy! And I am envious of your self control in limiting your book buys a week. I struggle with that one every time and I’m really glad for eARCs. Because of them, I get to have something new to cheer about every week even though I can’t spend any more money on books lol 🙂

    • Thanks for the birthday greeting! Believe me, I have called for a huge self control to do that. I intend to order a lot then eventually wonder how to read them all the soonest. That’s just crazy. 😀

Penny for your thoughts? Ü