My Week in a Wrapped #7

SundayPost

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

I still can’t get over the fact that one of my closest friend at work will no longer be working with me. Her contract ended last week. Sigh. Though we promised to still get in touch through text or Facebook, hang-out sometimes and did that pinky swear thing, I know it will never be the same again. I know it’s not “Goodbye”, but more of  “See you around”. Still. I feel so different without her. This week felt weird. Awkward really. It’s like I’m in this bubble alone. Sorry. I tend to be sentimental and possessive in a good way when it comes to friends or generally people I love. Sigh.

On a lighter note, I’ve met a new friend. An FBF. Fellow Bookworm Friend. I made that up and I know it sucks. LOL. Most of you knew her, I think. She’s Claudia of This is My Soul Called Life. We’ve exchanged a couple of (long) emails and I must admit that I’m loving her. She’s up to friends and not just followers. I’m surprised that she asked for us to talk outside the blogsphere since some bloggers don’t tend to be “real” friends with their followers and likers right? Don’t me give me that face. I said some, not all. 😀 I think a lot would agree with this. So there goes my week. Someone left. Someone turned up. See how life works? How’s your week? 😀

Line

Last Week On The Blog

Next Week On The Blog

  • Will check for recent updates for books I want
  • Currently Reading #28: The Beautiful Ashes
  • Teaser Tuesday #18: The Beautiful Ashes (If I don’t have a new read yet)
  • Waiting on Wednesday #24: I’m still thinking of what to feature
  • Book Review: The Beautiful Ashes (Hopefully!)
  • Currently Reading #29: Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White
  • Book Review: A new read (Hopefully!)
  • Book Beginning #3: Hoping to feature a new read 😀
  • Book Blogger Hop (Nov14 – Nov20)

Currently Reading #28

Name: The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny #1)
Author:
Jeaniene Frost
Number of Pages:
384 pages in eBook
Published:
August 26th, 2014 by Harlequin
Genre:
Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Historical Fiction, Romance

Goodreads

In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate. Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just beyond her own. But when her sister goes missing, Ivy discovers the truth is far worse—her hallucinations are real, and her sister is trapped in a parallel realm. And the one person who believes her is the dangerously attractive guy who’s bound by an ancient legacy to betray her. Adrian might have turned his back on those who raised him, but that doesn’t mean he can change his fate…no matter how strong a pull he feels toward Ivy. Together they search for the powerful relic that can save her sister, but Adrian knows what Ivy doesn’t: that every step brings Ivy closer to the truth about her own destiny, and a war that could doom the world. Sooner or later, it will be Ivy on one side and Adrian on the other. And nothing but ashes in between…

Around the Blogosphere

I want to have this part dedicated to book lovers I’m following 🙂

Newly Owned to Read #9

Got excited browsing the “Read Now” page of NetGalley,
originally planned to download just three and ended up with six.

What happened with the rule of three per week? 😀

Do you have a Sunday Post too? Please leave your links on the comment box. I’ll check them out 😀

LineLinking this up with Stacking the Shelves

nyze

46 thoughts on “My Week in a Wrapped #7

  1. “I still can’t get over the fact that one of my closest friend at work will no longer be working with me.”

    Holy crap, I thought you were going to say she passed away. My heart fell for a second. I’m glad to hear she just moved. Even if you’re not in touch everyday, you can still remain good friends. I see one of my bestest friends every couple years, but we’re still very close.

    Anyway, enjoy all your books! Even if you did break your rule. 😉

    • Am I that over reacting? LOL. Yeah. I agree but it tends to be sad when I think about it. Were inseparable in more than two years so yeah. I miss her.

      I did break it a couple times already. I hate myself 🙂

  2. Those read now books on NetGalley are soooo tempting! And I’m already wondering if The Here And Now is still read now as that’s on my to read list! Like I said soooo tempting :O

    Have a good week. You’ll be surprised at how quickly you adjust to not working with your friend, I have met lots of friends through work and we still stay in touch despite us all moving on, many many times by now.

    • Oh I just checked. “The Here and Now” is still on Read now. You might want to grab it 🙂

      I’m now adjusting in baby steps perhaps. Have a nice week too ♥

  3. I understand what you mean about your friend; sometime when we have a friend within a context,, like work, it is hard to keep the relationship going when the context changes. And it sounds like she made your workday more pleasant and that she was part of the structure of “work.”
    If you got together outside work, and shared interests other than what you do, then you will probably keep up your friendship. But, even if it is not the same you can still call her friend.

    • I know. It’s just hard. We’re inseparable and like sisters so going to work without her feels weird. I’m really hoping she stays in touch cause I’ll sure do. Thanks fro making me feel better babe ♥

  4. I hope you’ll have a better week at work next week, even without your friend and colleague. Those kinds of changes are pretty hard!
    But YAY for an FBF, I have some of those, too. And we chat on facebook or through e-mails as well. It’s great to have friends who love reading as much as I do, and sadly, most of my friends who live where I live just aren’t readers.
    I hope you’ll enjoy your new books Nyze. Have a great week.

    • Oh my friends wants to chill at a bar and have some margaritas while I want coffee, a sofa and a book. Haha! But I love them nonetheless so having an FBF is so much fun 🙂 Have a great week Lexxie ♥

  5. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Beautiful Ashes as that is a book I’ve had on my TBR list since I first heard about it. I have been trying to stay away from NetGalley but it hasn’t been working that well for me as I still managed to add a couple of new books to my ipad. Have a great week! Happy Sunday!

    • I’m halfway through the book. I really want to finish it as soon as I can. Work’s being bitch though. NetGalley is so tempting. Have a great week 🙂

  6. Sorry to hear your friend is no longer with you at work. It is easy to get close to people you work with since you spend so much time with them. I hope you do stay in touch! That’s great you met a new FBF! I’ve been looking for more FBF in my area. My friends don’t read as much as I do so they won’t go with me to book signings or movies (from books). I hope you enjoy your new books!

    • Yeah. I really hope she stays in touch cause I’ll surely do. Oh! I feel for you. My friends would call me geek but that’s okay. They don’t understand. 🙂 Have a great week 🙂

  7. Great way of looking at it about your new friend and coworker. Isn’t it funny how bloggers make new friends when sometimes family or “real life” friends don’t get the whole book thing? Hope you enjoy new reads!

  8. I know the feeling of having close friends no longer working with you. I went through something like that not long ago and it still feels weird to me.

    Hope you have a good week.

  9. That’s sad that your best friend at work left. I am sure work is more fun when you have a good friend with you.
    I feel that with some of my regular followers they have become more then just followers. There are some bloggers whos blog I visit regulary and which whom I connect better then some others. It’s nice to find people you connect with.

  10. It is sad when we lost contact, or know we will be losing contact, with friends we have had in our lives daily. I have had that happen more than once…people move, they change jobs. You keep in touch for a while, and then, zilch.

    But I guess when a door closes, a window opens…or some such cliche, but you found another blogging friend, and that’s good.

    Enjoy your new books…I haven’t read any of them! And thanks for visiting my blog.

    • “You keep in touch for a while, and then, zilch.” This is exactly what I dread for. I’m really hoping she stays in touch ’cause I’ll sure will.

      Claudia is so cool. I’m really glad I’ve met her 🙂 Have a great week 🙂

  11. As a person who recently left a job, I can honestly say it is not easy on them either 😦 But hooray for new friends! I love FBF….here’s to more 🙂

  12. I’m sorry about your friend, but I’m glad to see you’ve found someone new to talk to! Netgalley is so tempting! I haven’t been on in weeks, but I’ve been itching to see what’s new and I’m just barely holding off.
    I hope you have a lovely week this week!

  13. That’s a shame about your friend. I hope you do manage to stay in touch, I know it’s easy to drift apart when you’re no longer in the same place.

    Netgalley – that’s a temptation I haven’t given in to… yet. I was thinking I might try it sometime but I already have SO many books to get through the thought of more is a bit overwhelming at the moment 🙂

    Your Currently Reading feature looks lovely btw. I keep thinking I should try to make my own entries a bit prettier but I have no idea where to start 🙂

    • I hope she stays in touch ’cause I’ll sure will. I love that crazy girl. She’s like a sister to me 🙂

      Oh I tried to ignore my Netgalley account, but it’s calling me somehow. Lol. I swear, I won’t be browsing it for the next couple of months.

      I could give you tricks for HTML if you want. Just send me a private message 😀

  14. I’m sorry about your friend leaving. 😦 I work in a two person department and my other half quit back in July. You know how they say you don’t know what you have until it’s gone? Yeah. I miss her like crazy. It doesn’t help that her replacement has not been as easy to get along with. I feel your pain!

    Your current read looks like it is a good one! I hope you enjoy it and the goodies coming up!

    • I’m just hoping she’ll stay in touch cause I sure will. I’m still sad. We’re inseparable in 2 years 😦 She doesn’t have a replacement yet so I still miss her.

      I did enjoy it. The review’s up if you’re interested 🙂

  15. You had a great week on the blog and reading. Sorry your work friend is leaving but hopefully you can keep in touch. Some of my best friends are from work though we dont work together anymore. One is in a book club with me and we meet every month for dinner. Thanks for sharing with #SmallVictoriesSunday and hope you link up again with us this weekend.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read. I hope she’ll keep in touch ’cause I sure will. I’m still sad though. I’ll also make sure to link up on #SmallVictoriesSunday every week babe ♥

Penny for your thoughts? Ü

